Bliss Bird on a Branch & Retreating

January 11, 2011 at 11:19 am 3 comments

Good morning! Here’s another little card using the Bliss set. This time I’ve used that little bird stamp which is just too cute! I’ve combined it with leaves from the Sale-a-bration Sweet Summer set (that you’ve already seen) and also used the word ‘Bliss’ to create texture on the tree trunk and branches ( there’s a close up of that later). The bird has a layer of Crystal Effects over it and is raised up with dimensionals. I’ve coloured the leaves with a marker. The stitching is done with a marker and then pricked to amek it look like real stitching. The little scallops are just halved circles stamped with the Bliss stamp and pricked. The sentiments are from’ Tiny Tag’ set and ‘Vintage Vogue’.

How are you doing today? I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed by everything so I’m having a ‘no list’ day and retreating. It feels comforting to be esconced within these 4 walls and stay out of the cold wind.I’ve ditched todays’ list and am actually sitting down and watching a film with Will. I’ve managed not to cry at the beginning of Nemo (which we’re watching) and I may actually watch an entire film rather than the piecemeal affair that usually happens. Most films I never have seen the whole way through!!

 It feels good to resist the call of everything. Ok, I confess, I did clean and hoover one room but then I simply can’t relax in a messy room (anyone else like that?!!). I’m debating whether to go the whole hog and have beans on toast for tea. I know what kind of reception I’ll get for that from the kids- but hey, I’m always telling people to be kind to themselves, so maybe I should take a bit of my own medicine!

I’ve still got places left for Friday’s (14th) scrapbook class at my house. We’re doing a 12×12 page, a 3D object and maybe something else!! It’s at 8pm and it’s a good way of having an evening off and relaxing at the same time. Email me if you fancy it.

Take care, and don’t work too hard! xx

Card project; Cardstock- Tempting Turquoise, Early Espresso, Whisper White, Crumbcake. Ink- Early Espresso. Ribbon- pink and Certainly Celery taffeta. Pear Pizzazz marker. Stamp sets’ Bliss and Sweet Summer Sale-a-bration sets. Tiny Tags and Vintage Vogue. Paper Piercer, Designer button, corner rounder and linen thread.

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , , .

Bliss Sale-a-bration set & How you live Cupcake Earring Card & Overpriced goods!!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  January 11, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Beautiful card … and thank you so much for your wishes … birthday not till tomorrow though … xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. emma dyson  |  January 11, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    beans on toast is brilliant keren! so glad to hear you’re taking some of your own medicine! may this year you take more of it!! emxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Jean Thomas  |  January 11, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    You made me smile (again) with your “no list” day. I have the occasional day like that – love em! But I can sit in an untidy room, and we have beans on toast too. Have enjoyed your cards using the free stamps, love the colours you used. Love Jean xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


