Sale-a-bration part III and Bring on The Wall!

January 3, 2011 at 11:33 am 1 comment

I’d like to comment on the fact that it’s a beautiful sunshiney day. Alas, it’s not. Once I get past Christmas time, pyschologically I think that Spring is coming! Well it is- just a little way off. so, my card is spring themed- butterflies and bees. I’m afraid it’s not completely resolved- to be put on one of my ‘I’m not really sure I like it’ piles. But I thought I’d share anyway!! The geometric design was inspired by a little nosey around a blog called The Bald Dragonfly . I happened to find it because she’s a papercrafter called Karen Baker!- I just had to check it out and she has a style that I love. She does a lot of clean and simple (CAS) and some of her repeated designs got me thinking about my Sweet Summer Sale-a-bration set and how cute the bees would be in formation. It needs a bit more tinkering with design-wise, but today it will have to do. You can’t tell in the photo but the bees wings are glittered with some of the translucent blue from the Cosmo Glitter set. You will need a Stampamajig for accurate placement, but I’m placing an order in the next day so contact me to order all the things you need if you want to recreate any of these projects.

Following on from me telling you that the kids were doing their own version of ‘The Wall’ gameshow, I decided we’d try and emulate the whole show (minus the swimming pool and lurid silver costumes!). My daughter and I cut up large pieces of lining paper and put different shaped holes in them and the kids had to mimic the shape in order to fit through the sheet that was moving towards them (held by me and my daughter!). The first couple were easyish and got progressively more difficult. As each game began they’d raucously cheer ‘Bring on the Wall!’..my poor, poor neighbours! They managed not to tear most of the shapes until the final one where it was a letterbox shape and they literally had to jump through it to get to the other side. We’d carefully positioned lots of pillows and organised it so they were actually jumping onto the sofa. They loved it. The final kid tore it and then there was a mass tearing up the lining paper in a frenzy to complete the game! I thought we’d got through unscathed (accident wise) although my littliest had a red mark on his eye the next day, so now I’m not so sure!! I think I just may have had more fun than they did. I tried to be Anton du Beck, but failed miserably!

I’m running off again- with seeing lots of people recently, the housework has slidden and I’m looking at my mess trying not to be discouraged. My hubby helpfully reminded me that I have the rest of my life to clean it up. He’s too right- I will spend the rest of my life cleaning up!!! 

Well see you tomorrow (maybe!)

 

Card recipe; Cardstock- Crumb cake and basic black. Stazon ink. Stampin’Up! markers in So Saffron, Peach Parfait, Basic Black, Bashful Blue. White Signo pen. Greenhouse Gala designer papers. Marina Mist Satin and Pumpkin pie taffeta ribbon. Cosmo Glitter. Corner rounder punch. Rhinestones

 

 

Entry filed under: Craft, Craft Links, papercrafting, Punches, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Mario Bros party & the lovely NHS 11 Things for 2011 & Scrapbooking Class

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  January 3, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Your a hero … anyone ever tell you that? Just think when your little ones are all grown up these are the times you will all talk about and laugh … I like your card … very artistic …

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


