Sale-a-bration 2011 & Happy New Year!!

January 1, 2011 at 3:51 pm 3 comments

Happy New Year y’all!! Hope you’re feeling ready for a new year and full of life?! No ,is it just me? Nah, I’m feeling a little jaded too! Come this afternoon I’m sure my energy will have returned (ably helped out by a decent sized piece of chocolate cake!!!). You may be able to tell I’m still on the fence about Madam Rosemary Conley, but I’m enjoying cake until my Birthday at least (which gives me a couple of days!). So, I thought I’d do a bright, zingy card instead. Super quick and super easy- -took me all of 10 minutes at the very max! The SAB set is the Sunny Moments set- just embossed with white on basic black cardstock.

Well how was your New Year? We had some of our family over. They have two young kids and so have the conundrum of  what to do on nights like that. We had a quiz designed by one of my girls and part of that was a dance off using a Wii dance game. It was very funny and I’m glad no-one was videoing it!! I don’t think that it’s one of my gifts! The kids then watched a DVD which finished just about at 12o’clock. It’s about the only occasion where I’d let them all stay up late. At least they can’t moan that we never let them see the New Year in. As a result we have some extremely grumpy kids today, but we’ve just had some lovely friends over and they all kind of amused each other and I actually got to have a conversation lasting longer than 10 minutes which is no small achievement I can tell you!

Normal life is now peering at me from around the corner. It’s sad to see it really. Spending time with the kids and Steve is really great (minus the grumpiness), and I love having no uniform to get ready and no school run. Playing family games and going to the park is just what we needed. We did lose a bolt in our park trip. Some kids had new bikes and as we have no bike hook for our car yet, we had to take 2 cars to fit 3 bikes and 5 kids in! My littliest just couldn’t get to grips with cycling forwards- his speciality is pedalling backwards and then got very frustrated that the bike wouldn’t move. I had a sore back from pushing him on his bike around the park. The other two had a brilliant time until one realised his bike was breaking. A major bolt had come off (not one that Steve had put on!) but as it was getting very dark and foggy, we decided to come back to find it (remember the conker and bottle escapade- we wanted no more accidents!). Amazingly steve found it a day later. The chances of finding a tiny bolt in a park the size of a small village were remote, but now we have a working bike at least.

I’d better go- the kids are trying to recreate the TV show ‘Bring on The Wall‘!- I’m not sure it’s going to end without tears!!!

See you soon xx

 

Card recipe. Crumb cake, Marina Mist, and basic black, Whisper white cardstock. Greenhouse Gala striped designer paper. Flower brad, adhesive rhinestones. Real red satin ribbon. White embossing powder and Versamark ink. Circle punches.

PS scuse the flecks of powder- should’ve used my embossing buddy!

 

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Punches, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , , .

Stampin’Up! Sale-a-bration 2011 & Minimalism Mario Bros party & the lovely NHS

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen B.  |  January 2, 2011 at 3:48 am

    This is a fantastic card! I especially like your mix of patterns and colors.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Vicki  |  January 2, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Hahaha! Would like to be there for that, Bring On The Wall!…..lol Oh I can just imagine, I can’t stop laughing, thought it was only my kids that did things like that 😉

    Hope to see you soon.

    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  January 3, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    Another terrific read and equally terrific card … happy new year!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


