Baby Card & Mass Catering

December 29, 2010 at 5:25 pm 2 comments

Phewee! Have to admit I’m ready for a change. Normally I’m clinging onto every last bit of Christmas but I’m already itching to get the decorations down and clean up the house. In light of this, I’ve done a baby card (because it’s completely different !).

I’ve several expectant friends and we’re waiting for news any day. I’ve been thinking about the whole baby conversation thing recently and I have to have a small comment! (only a teeny one!) Picture the typical scene… Very pregnant person chatting to a friend or acquaintance. “You’re still here then?”. ( don’t get me started on that one). “Pregnant lady nods a little ironically. ” Do you have long to go?” Mum to be says “only a few days now”. Now the questions continue, ” What are you hoping for?” asks the friend. “I don’t know” she replies. “Well as long as it’s healthy” says the friend.

Now without wanting to offend anyone and I know that this comment is never meant in a bad way, but this comment kind of grates a little with me (and I know I’m not alone). There isn’t a goal to have a healthy baby – simply a safe delivery. The word ‘healthy’ is slightly loaded and implies best. Some of us have kids who weren’t born with the classification ‘healthy’ as in my daughters’ case and she had quite a fight on her hands when she was born. She’s not any less valuable with or without a disability and my husband and I were just glad to have her here safely. I guess I’d love that phrase replaced with ‘it doesn’t matter whether it’s a boy or girl, I’ll just be glad to hold them’. There you are; rant over!

Do you ever feel like a cafe? Not personally! but in the jobs you do. I love having people around to our home- it’s open for anyone to pop in (assuming we’re not out and then it wouldn’t be open!!).We’ve been doing a lot of cooking and now I am sort of longing for a decent salad . All these crisps and Christmas cakes and sausage rolls and coleslaw and ..need I continue!! The sight of abundance is one to make you thankful but also where the belt on your jeans starts groaning imperceptibly!

I should talk about the card too. I love our baby stamp set called ‘Bundle of Love’. (£21.95 or £26.95 for wood- 16 stamps in all)All the teensy images are from it. The cute banners are a stamp from the ‘Party This Way set’ (£12.95 or £15.95 for wood) and are really versatile. I’ve had fun doodling. I love messing with my white pen doing faux stitching- so quick and easy). Add a few pearls, a couple of cardstock stickers from the Nursery Accents set and finish it off with ribbon and buttons.

There- all done! I’ve got a whole pile of washing up to do. I need to hide the beetroot in the kitchen after one of my kids saw how dramatically it stained her foot (a bit fell on her foot) and now wants to try dyeing her hair with it. So, if you see a child walking down your road with peculiarly coloured hair that stinks of vinegar- chances are she’ll be mine!!

Byee! xx

Card recipe; Crumb cake cardstock (card base). Marina mist ribbon. Linen thread. Adhesive pearls. Buttons from Subtles pack. Pink pirouette, Marina Mist, Certainly Celery and So Saffron cardstock and inks. Soft Subtles designer papers. Small hole punch. Nursery Accents cardstock sticker pack. Bundle of Love stamp set. ‘Party this way’ stamp set. White Signo gel pen. Stazon black ink. Stampin’ Dimensionals.

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

New Craft Classes & Blog Award Stampin’Up! Sale-a-bration 2011 & Minimalism

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jean Thomas  |  December 29, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Its funny the things we say to pregnant mums – I could just hear myself saying exactly the same thing, I must be getting old!! I really love the baby card its very pretty. Do you think they may bring out a punch, the shape of the banner, one day? I did notice that the shape had been stamped and cut out without cutting each individual scallop (if you know what I mean) in the catalogue.
    I wish you God’s richest blessings for the year ahead.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  December 29, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    What a fabulous card … love the banner and the teeny tiny stamping … so very pretty … and yes you are so right about the baby “thing” … not something I had thought about to be honest … But I will in future … Cheers!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


