Card Display Unit & Christmas Countdown!!

December 23, 2010 at 2:41 pm 3 comments

Thanks for all your lovely comments and messages about the previous post- it was heartwarming to receive them. I guess there are a lot of people for whom that post resonated with them. I’m lucky to have so many lovely readers! I wanted to show you two things today- the first is something I’ve had ready to make for ages and have only just got round to it. It’s using an old frame with the glass and back removed. You just staple a couple of lengths of strong twine to the back and you can attach pegs or clips to hang your items up with. I picked up the trees and reindeer clips from Paperchase a couple of years ago and you can guarantee they’ve always got something similar in. I’ll show you some of the items in more detail another time- but on to the other little thing;  the second picture is a little package with a couple of chocs in- I’m showing it to you as the little cellophane bags look so lovely when they’re stamped on. You do need to use Stazon inks (and my fave is always the White Opaque) but it just transforms a very ordinary piece of cellophane.

I am more or less sorted for Christmas now- the kids have been counting down for ages, oh, and a certain friend who keeps sending me texts with a countdown of exactly how many sleeps are to go on a regular basis!! The first few were fun, the next couple kinda made my stress levels rise somewhat and the final few have just been met with an ‘aarrgghhh’ as a reply!!! I only with joke about her- she is truly the most excited adult about Christmas time that I have ever met and it’s kind of contagious!

My kids are getting into the ‘making‘ spirit too- so far we’ve got through several batches of cupcakes, receptacles for holding chocolates (although rather giant foiled tented ones!), an enormous money box (made out of a Stampin’Up! delivery box!!) and right now, someone is beavering in the kitchen making truffles from a friends’ recipe. If only they were so quick to tidy their bedrooms!!

I just have to prepare some of the food now. I’m trying to prep as much as possible beforehand. I’m not so bothered about the Christmas lunch as it’s just a glorified roast dinner isn’t it!! But so I can enjoy the day without so much kitchen-slaving, I’ve already made the cranberry sauce, the gravy and on todays list is the stuffing bases ( chestnut stuffing and gingerbread stuffing a la Nigella!!) and the red cabbage dish. It all feels more enjoyable when you countdown slowly!!!

I doubt I’ll get to posting now before Christmas day, so I want to say a really Happy Christmas and that you might know God’s peace at this special time. I know some of you have known real hardship and sadness this year and I guess Christmas will be a time to reflect too. I look forward to sharing my 2011 journey with you and keep posting those comments please- I love knowing it’s not just me out there!!!

Lots of love,

xx

PS- To give credit where credit is due- Amanda made those little Christmas puddings originally – check out her blog-you’ll find them in there with the cutest Santa After Eights holder ever!!!! Thanks for telling me Amanda!!

Entry filed under: Craft, Craft Links, gifts, papercrafting, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Mini Christmas chocolate puddings and a bit of Emotion! New Craft Classes & Blog Award

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  December 23, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Love love love! the frame … Have a great Christmas … God bless

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. dianne  |  December 24, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    what a good idea, love it , blessings luv dianne x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Unit Display  |  December 28, 2010 at 6:10 am

    […] Card Display Unit & Christmas Countdown!! « Kerenbaker's Blog Card Display Unit & Christmas Countdown! December 23, Thanks for all your lovely comments and messages about the previous post- it was heartwarming to receive them. I guess there are a lot of people for whom that post resonated . […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


