Mini Christmas chocolate puddings and a bit of Emotion!

December 21, 2010 at 4:13 pm 9 comments

I can’t claim that these are my ideas- because they’re not. I’d love to know who first created them. These are my versions and they’re perfect little receptacles for single chocolates a la the Ferrero Rocher variety. You just need a variety of punches (or a very steady hand!!). I’ve made some with extra large holly leaves that have the space then, to put a name on or use them as festive place settings. They don’t take very long either- I’ve got lots of people making them and some people were brilliant at perfecting their holly (no names mentioned huh!!- but they spent the whole night punching out holly leaves). One word of warning- as you take off the edges of an oval with a tiny circle punch (this creates the ridges on the holly leaves), the bits have a tendency to twang everywhere- I found a ridiculous amount of them down my top!!!!

They’re also great for using up all those annoying little bits and bobs of card. I don’t hang onto card pieces if they’re below a certain size- but these puddings are perfect for remnants!

Today has been busy and productive. It started with a trip to the dentist for a temporary filling for me. It was very kind of the dentist to be so seasonal and use oil of cloves in the filling- now every time I breathe in, it feels like Christmas!! Less good was when he informed me that to have an implant on a tooth that has been bashed, will cost me in the region of £2000! -yes there are not too many 0’s- he really said two thousand quid! Hmmm- better get saving!!

We then thought we’d beat the rush and go to the local Post Office which was delightfully empty and then visit Tesco for my Christmas shop. Me and 100’s of others had had the same idea!! Carting 5 kids around and trying to get your groceries isn’t really advisable. We came away relatively unscathed. After I’d spent rather more money than I’d intended (although I made a great saving on my turkey) we set off out to pack up the car. It was then we noticed the stars.

Now I’m not telling you this story to pat myself on the back as I’ve hardly done anything much- anyone could do this- but it’s so heartwarming that I thought I’d share it.

My little boy Jamie is 7, and some of you will know that his twin sister died about 4.5 years ago. He was really missing her on his Birthday last Monday and he asked about the stars that were on the Christmas tree in the foyer of Tesco. All these snowflakes/stars had ‘boy aged 9’ or ‘girl aged 15′ written on them and the idea was that you bought a little extra something, gave the star with the corresponding present to Tesco Customer Services and they pass it on to a local childrens’ home. I’m all for trying to get my kids to see beyond their own situations and notice that the world we live in is groaning with sadness and difficulty. We chatted about how there were many kids in this city for whom Christmas isn’t about the typical Christmas picture you see on cards and I guess even though the homes do an amazing job, some kids must find Christmas-time pretty tough. I hadn’t managed to do a shoebox this year and thought Jamie might enjoy marking the moment in memory of his sister. I asked him to choose a gift that he thought his sister might have liked if she was still here. He told me he knew exactly what she would have liked. He picked out a really cute little chipmunk that moved when you stroked it. “It’s perfect Mummy’, he said, ‘she’d have loved playing with this’. He wanted to know about the little girl who would get it instead and I said we could pray that she’d have a lovely Christmas. He turned to me as I took a picture of him clutching the toy; ‘Mummy, we’ve just created a lovely moment‘. I nearly started blubbering at this point!

He handed it over with such pride to the bloke at Customer Services, who wouldn’t have dreamed for a moment that this gift was so special to him. As we got back into the car, he said ‘Mum, I’m going to do a happy cry now’. Kids know how to ‘get’ you sometimes don’t they! We were sad to see just how many stars were left. We reckon the recession is probably squeezing everyone. If you have a local store that is doing something similar- it would be great if you could manage to go and do the same- it doesn’t need to be extravagant – just a small gesture to let someone unknown that you care. We got far more out the process than we could have imagined- I guess that’s often the way.

Well, I’ll put my Kleenex down now. Hope you get time to watch out for others who are alone or just a little bit in need of some friendship this Christmas.

Sending you all a big Christmas hug

xx

 

Supplies needed- large and small circle punches, small oval, large scalloped punch. Crop-a-dile. Wild Wasabi, Early Espresso and Very Vanilla and Real Red cardstock, Pear Pizzazz marker and White Signo Gel pen.

Entry filed under: Craft, gifts, Punches. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Christmas Card Truffles and Running out of Time Card Display Unit & Christmas Countdown!!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda B  |  December 21, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Keren…. Guilty as charged!!! Well of the Xmas Pud that is!!

    http://thecraftspa.blogspot.com/2010/10/christmas-sweet-treats.html

    Loving seeing other peoples versions and love your big holly leaves on the puds.

    And as always I am having an emotion care of your blog posts – you always make me laugh – or cry….. sometimes both!!!

    Have a very merry Christmas and a very happy 2010.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Vicki  |  December 22, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Oh Keren, what a little star he is, I have to admit, he made me cry (bless him.)

    Have a beautiful Christmas 😉
    Big hugs

    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  December 23, 2010 at 12:02 am

    And here I am a blubbering wreck … beautiful … puds and story … Have a wonderful Christmas …

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Stacey O'Shea  |  December 23, 2010 at 3:41 am

    That was such a touching post, your little boy is so special. Did have a bit of a bubble too but so glad I spotted it.

    Have a fantastic Christmas to you and the family.
    Much love
    Stacex

    Like

    Reply
    • 5. kerenbaker  |  December 23, 2010 at 2:56 pm

      thankyou- it’s always nice to have new visitors! Wishing you a very Happy Christmas also x

      Like

      Reply
  • 6. Peg  |  December 23, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    What a smasher your son is! reduced to tears today reading your blog.
    Have a fab Christmas
    Peg x

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. dianne  |  December 24, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Yep tears here to ! have a lovely christmas , see you in the new year luv dianne xxxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Ros Crawford  |  December 26, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Hi Keren … there is an award for you on my blog …

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Michelle  |  December 27, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    bless him, and I am so proud of you teaching your lovely son that not all tears are sad tears, hope you had a wonderful Christmas x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


