Christmas Card Truffles and Running out of Time

December 20, 2010 at 9:47 am 5 comments

Brrrrrrrr! Since when did we become part of the Arctic Circle??!! What amazing weather. I say it’s amazing because its entirely beautiful to look at when you’re snuggly warm and toasty sipping a good cuppa. There are some disadvantages; the latest for us is having no running water or flushing toilets for the second time in a week. There may be an easy fix- there was last time- our neighbour had a leaking outdoor pipe to an outdoor toilet. Once he switched it off- hey presto. Our neighbours are at work today and he did say last week that he was keeping it switched off. Oh well- I think we’ll be trekking up to the local petrol station to buy vast amounts of bottled water- if only to wash down the loos with!!

This little package was my Christmas card to some of my friends. It was an entirely flukey thing but ended up well. I was busy making Tiffin for the teachers at school. One of them has a penchant for a bit of rum in the Tiffin mix (refrigerator cake to some of you!). I managed to get rum in there last year but as I stirred the molten choc and rum mixture it began to seize. I rushed to the fridge and whisked in some cream very vigorously. It turned into a ganache type mix and I put it in the fridge and hoped for the best. To say there was no measuring and it had begun to seize, the final result, was rather yummy. Just goes to show that sometimes happy accidents are the best. Can you just see the little stars? I’ve been decorating everything with them- they were a little pricey but there are literally 100’s of them so it’s not so bad.

I love this stamp set- I have in fact ordered one too many– so if anyone wants to do some last minute stamping and lives locally, you’re welcome to purchase it- I just might do you a deal too!! I’ll show you some non-Christmas ideas to use this particular image after Christmas. After all a stamp is for life- not just for Christmas!!! I love coloured staples too- they add texture rather than just being utilitarian- check out your local pound shop for something similar.

I’m running scared from Christmas at the moment- I was doing so well – but mostly due to prepping so much for my weekly course- all the plans to make my stuff for people have gone down the pan a little. It seems a little ironic that I’ve been so busy teaching people how to create homemade items and cards that I’ve no time to do my own!!! I have enjoyed it though, and the group of girls that have been coming are such a great gang. It’s the last week this week and I need to bake some cakes ready for them. Just goes to show that I need to keep the real reason for Christmas in mind and not concentrate on all the fripperies!. Today (apart from sluicing the loos) I’ve got some little people coming round to play. I’d love to christen my new food processor (an unexpected pressie from my parents- Mwah!!) and make some gingerbread dough but I fear the cold in the kitchen will keep me from entering there!

Better go- I’m sooo far behind!  Before I go, want to hear another faux pas from my 3 year old? We’re at the checkout this week, being served by a really nice young bloke who happened to be sporting a ponytail. Will obviously hasn’t seen many long haired men and to my horror, pointed at the said man and started spouting (very loudly) “Ladyman, ladyman‘!  I did not know where to put myself and opted for the gentle shushing approach rather than the fullblown telling off and making a big scene!! I’m sure the man heard, but he was very gracious and continued to chat away. I enlightened him as to what mince was and recommended he had a go at making his own mince pies!!

 

See you soon (next time will be me typing whilst scoffing a mincepie!!)

xx

 

Christmas card recipe; Cardstock Cherry cobbler, very vanilla. Ink Old Olive. Stamp set Contempo Christmas. Ribbon, Old Olive grosgrain. Cello bags- medium size. Rhinestones.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Covered Christmas Notebooks and the Large family! Mini Christmas chocolate puddings and a bit of Emotion!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave Williams  |  December 20, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Your Christmas Card Truffles look awesome Keren. Ive seen the one you gave to my mum and dad and Ive had to resist the urge of pinching the truffle out of the middle! They look fabulous!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  December 20, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Theses look fabulous … you are so creative …. sorry about your water probs … hope you get things sorted soon .. and yes we will have a coffee together soon!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  December 20, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Hey these are amazing and thank you so much for our little treats last week, had a fab time 😉

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Mara Livingstone-McPhail  |  December 20, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Oooh, me please for the stamp set – I have given mine away… I am in no rush for it though. See you in the New Year? Much love Mara x

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. sohbet  |  December 20, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    happy chriStmaS

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


