Covered Christmas Notebooks and the Large family!

December 15, 2010 at 1:26 pm 2 comments

 I know (rap my knuckles someone)- been missing again! You can guess- need I bore you?!! I’ve got plenty to post, if I could just find the time!!

This is the end product- I’ll show it how it started out towards the end. People are beginning to wonder if I have a secret deal with Tesco, such is the frequency with which I keep sending people there with the promise of various craftable products (do you like that word, I think I just invented it!!). The green on the tree (from the Season of Joy set) is altered in hue because of the thin oh-so-nearly -not-there layer of shimmer paint. It’s quite unintelligable to the camera, but trust me, it’s quite a nice shimmer ‘up close and personal’.

Pearls and rhinestones are starting from ship from the European warehouse , after an overdue absence but then, you all went mad and ordered them!! Hold on a few more days- they ARE coming!!

I love using ribbon in different ways and this time I’ve used it as a binding. After all, no-one wants to see two unfinished pieces of paper butted up to each other, really, do you?

The button is acting as a closure- with the twine being wrapped around it to keep the little book together. Thing is, why would you give a Christmas notebook at Christmas when then you look a bit silly for the next few months, whipping out a notebook out of your bag with a festive tree on it?!! Perhaps I should’ve been using it as Seasonal check list holder? Ah well, there’s always next year!!

You would hate to see my lists- you’d hyperventilate as much as me I reckon!! I actually avoid looking for a couple of hours and then the need overtakes me! It’s not just Christmas- a Mario themed Birthday party at the weekend for of my little boys complete with iron-transferred Mario’s on the T-shirts rather than party bags (that is, if they do get to me with all the post disruption).

Recently, the size of my family has been the subject of quite a few discussions. From the man serving in the Post Office who kept shaking his head in disbelief that I actually had 5 children ( I know, you have to love people like that, even if they could do with visiting Specsavers and checking their eyesight!) to another man in Asda this morning who came up to Will and said that he looked ‘stressed’ and had I been shouting at him? Will looked at him with a confused expression. Bless him, he was sitting in the trolley, happily playing with his tiger. ” oooh, I bet he has plenty of paddies (tantrums)” said the man (looking at the colour fo his hair). ‘He’s quite good”, I replied, ‘although he does have his moments’.- I have another red head and she has her moments too!!’. He asked me how many kids I had. When he heard the answer he laughed and chuckled ‘next time I see you in here, we’ll have a whip round and we’ll buy you a television and then you’ll stop having so many children’. With that, he walked off!

Honestly, it’s the not the first time (and probably not the last) that people make comments like that.The first time shocked me that someone could be so personal, -now i’m well used to it. Although it doesnt beat the ‘Are they all yours?’ question, followed on its heels with ‘Do they have the same Dad?’!! Well, there you go- I’m sure this humour and straight talking is fairly unique to Liverpool!!   Maybe I just need a sign around my neck ‘Yes, I have 5 children, and yes, I like it this way!!!   Righto- I’ve got to go and finish all the baking that William and I have been doing this morning so I can give all those teachers something for Christmas.

I hope to be back here soon!!!

xx

 

Notebook supplies- blue spotty notebook with pen (Tesco). Old Olive ribbon and ink. Real red button, linen thread, Jolly Holiday papers (background) and Merry Moments scrapbook set (paper on notebook), pearls,  Cardstock very vanilla, real red and Old Olive. Silver shimmer paint. Stamp set, Season of Joy.

Entry filed under: Craft, gifts, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , .

Joy Card & Getting Ideas Christmas Card Truffles and Running out of Time

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. david  |  December 16, 2010 at 8:21 am

    My dearest Keren, Steve and children,
    Though I can’t be there for Christmas sadly I would take this moment to wish you all the very happiest of Christmas’s. Considering the year you have been through you are no doubt looking forward to a better 2011 to which I wish you all the best and hope your wishes come true though there are always advantages having the big guy guiding your steps though sometimes wonder as he sure does test you lol
    All my love to you all
    David

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  December 16, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Another brilliant post! and brilliant notebook …. You know Keren … I think that having 5 children to the same man … even being still with that man let alone married to him … is sadly Unique these days … who would have ever thought it? So my friend give yourself a round of applause … you are Unique in a wonderful way … of course you have to be wary of gold diggers … sadly the same people with their silly comments probably think you are on benefits too and that you have a £1m house provided by the council ….
    Have a great day and Best wishes to you and yours for Christmas and the New Year … xxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


