Joy Card & Getting Ideas

November 24, 2010 at 2:15 pm 1 comment

Top of the morning to you! (well, it’s nearly over the hill and into the afternoon!!). I keep getting asked the same questions recently, so I thought I’d answer one online! People keep wondering  where I get all my ideas from. The answer, in short is all around me, or with reference to this card, a tea bag!!!

Teabag? ! Yes, a ‘The’ (add accent over the e) Coquelicot Gourmand one to be precise!! We’d all gone into Liverpool One for a wander and went to Waterstones for a coffee. I saw the packaging which was loveliness personified and had to take a picture of it. I’m well used by now, to the funny looks that accompany my seemingly bizarre behaviour! I simply came home & adapted it into a card. I even used the shiny black onto matt black detail (read, clear embossing powder on plain black card).

You see, I dont wake up in the night with new and excitingly original ideas, I’m just inspired by the talents of others. It might be a billboard advert, or a layout or simply a colour scheme on a mannequin. It takes a little practice to look beyond the blindingly obvious and see the little details all around us. Go, on. I challenge you to look a little more into your surroundings next time you’re out and about and create something unique inspired by what you’ve seen. Oh, and please show me what you’ve created- I’d love to see!

At the moment I’m resisting the urge to go into school and have a chat with them about why it is deemed necessary to take our 6 year old away for 2 and a half days in June. I’m no fan of school trips for the little ones and when it costs £140 too, I feel we may have lost our way a little too. My 6 year old won’t be going- I fail to see why it’s important at that stage and have misgivings about entrusting my little bundle over to a set of staff (not from the school) who I’ve never met. I feel I’m handing over something too precious to just anybody. What makes me sad is the reluctance of other parents to send their kids and yet they do because they feel they have no other option and don’t want their kid to miss out. I guess I’m learning to be true to what I believe as I only have one chance to do this. He’ll soon forget that he wasn’t there although don’t get me started on what he might be doing instead whilst he’s not on the trip!! I suppose it’s a clarion call and a reminder to me that peer pressure of a more mature kind is still very much alive, and I do well if I stand by what I believe so I shall have no regrets that I didnt! There, off my soap box now! Hope you have a day where you stick to your guns and honour the things that you know are important to you!!

Card project;

Rich Razzleberry, Basic Black and Whisper White cardstock. Versamark ink. Clear and white embossing powder. Stamp sets; Broadsheet Alphabet, Playful Pieces (hostess set). Black satin ribbon , linen thread and Rich Razzleberry button.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

After Eight Boxes & Jolly Holiday Covered Christmas Notebooks and the Large family!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  December 16, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    I must have missed this post somehow … but brilliant! I fully admire and respect you as a Mum … and agree wholeheartedly with your decision and your comments … Bravo!
    Love your card and you put it so well …that I shall “borrow'” your answer when I am asked the same question about where my ideas come from … though sometimes believe it or not I do suddenly wake with an idea … mostly during the day … which says I am in a state of waking sleep most of the time! Ah well …

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


