Union Jack Keyring & Parenting Skills (or lack of!)

November 13, 2010 at 4:56 pm 4 comments

I’ve been away.. and finally managed to get something to take pics with.. so I’m back in blogland again!

This is one of the swaps I made for the Stampin’Up! convention last weekend. It was a truly unique experience..ask me about it when you see me! Because the event was in London- I thought the British angle was a good one to go with, so I made about 110 of these. Yes, I know, it was a nutty thing to do! The idea is that you swap your items with other people and so get a wide range of other lovely handmade items in return. Most of them were cards, but there were some other beautiful 3D items, that I’ll post about some other time.

One of the other interesting swap items was where 90 of us agreed to make some tiny 3×3″ scrapbook pages. I didnt get the chance to swap all 90 but came back with 70 odd. The problem then was how to display them as they wouldnt even fit on some extremely large book rings I’d got stashed away. I decided to make an album from scratch. I kinda wished I’d consulted a few books first, but this is uniquely mine and I enjoyed the challenge of constructing it!

I made it from some kraft type board that we got from the weekend in our craft packs. All the papers are Playdate, Greenhouse Gala and the letters are cut out from Newsprint  papers. I made a spine separately out of 3 pieces of card laid out with a samll gap between each piece and then covered back and front with Designer Series Paper. The gap gives it ‘bendability’!  The inside was somewhat of a challenge, and although I’m not perfectly happy with it, I just used whatever I had in.

These give you an idea of how it closes and the inside structure. I used jumbo eyelets and a spine made from the thick kraft type card.

If I get time, I might decorate the inside too. I just wanted to get them all in one place and protected from little fingers!!

Speaking of little fingers, if I ever thought I was passable as a parent, this weeks events have helped dispel this notion. Without giving you all the gory details, I thought I’d share one of the more humourous events of the week (humourous, that is, for you reading it!). Picture a harmonious afternoon.. I’d just come away from a parents evening and had a lovely report for one of my kids. I rarely buy my children sweets (as everyone else does it for me!), and thought I’d get them some as they’d been really good. All was fine.  We picked up a few Christmas presents (in the space of 10 minutes) and the 3 littlies chose some sweets. I paid and we headed out for the car. William then decided he didnt want to wait until we got to the car and demanded the sweeties right then and right there. I explained that they were all in bags and he could have them in the car. That simply wasn’t acceptable. A complete meltdown occured.

In this situation, I normally just wait it out. Wait for it to all go away and for the kid to exhaust themselves. This wasnt going to happen that day. The other two were getting really embarrassed; ‘Mum, do we have to stand here, everyone’s looking at us’. It was true, I could feel the onlookers disapproval; people staring at us.  Quite a few minutes later, a woman approached me. Think of her with a big broad Scouse accent ‘Just give him what he wants’, she told me. I looked at her, smiled at her through gritted teeth and replied ‘No.’ She tried again; ‘Love, just give him what he wants’. I couldnt believe her interference and so told her, ‘If I give him what he wants, he’ll learn that throwing tantrums gets him what wants’. She looked at me, said, ‘Good point’. and walked off.

Without going into the finer points of why people think it’s ok to interfere in someone elses situation, particularly when no-one is being hurt or looks like they need help, I couldn’t quite believe how unhelpful she had been. A few more minutes passed and I realised that he wasnt going to calm down anytime soon. I decided that the ‘scoop and run’ technique was probably the only way forward. The only difficulty was that I was carrying a large amount of bags. I asked Harri if she could manage two more and bless her, she picked them up and started to struggle to the car. At this point the flailing two year old was not watching where he placed his legs;- crack-, a leg in Jamie’s face- so I had one heavily laden child moaning ‘the bags are too heavy’, one kid crying, ‘ he kicked me in the face’ and one imploding kid.  I’ve never been so glad to get into the car! Once in, the ‘screamer’ turned it straight off, apologised (after some stern words from me) and piped up ‘I’m really, really sorry Mummy, please can I have my sweets now’? 

Has the story made you glad you weren’t me? Glad to be of service! You never can tell when all the potential stresses are going to be rolled into one! Thankfully, Will is learning that tantrums really don’t achieve all that much and I’m serving as a ‘phew, I’m passed that stage’ visual aid to others. I still love my kids to bits, but may be giving Home Bargains a wide margin for a week or two!!

Off to breathe deeply! xx

 

Project Supplies;

Album: Wide choc chip striped ribbon.Designer Series Papers. Heart punch .

Key Ring; Artistic Etchings stamp set (on key ring). Poppy Parade, Whisper White & Marina Mist cardstock. Dazzling Diamonds & white craft Ink. 2 way Glue pen.

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

New Ribbons and a Stampin’Up! Christmas Bundle After Eight Boxes & Jolly Holiday

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  November 13, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Glad you had a great time at the convenion and your album is great. I know exactly where you are coming on the child front – I try to give the shops a wide berth with all four of them in tow! You can guarantee the tantrums are over sweets and toys.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  November 13, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Lovely keyrings and great album … you’ve been busy no wonder I missed you … oooh! I feel for you reading about the tantrums … and applaud you for standing your ground … it’s never easy …
    take care xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  November 13, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    Oh I sooo admire your patience, I think I’ve been quite lucky with the boys – you are a star! 😉

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Sara  |  November 17, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Love the keyring. So sorry I didn’t get chance to swap with you, I’d have loved one of these. Hope I’ll see you in Disneyland Paris next year.

    Hang in there with the parenting, lol.

    Sara xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


