Joy Card and an Epic Saga

October 23, 2010 at 5:56 pm 2 comments

Apologies to those of you who may have seen this treat cup card before. I really love this Christmas card and somehow, in light of all that’s happened this week, this card seems to be downright appropriate!

It was really useful to have some Skittles the perfect colour to put into the plastic cups. The paper is from a retired Designer Paper set BUT there’s a Christmas Jingle scrapbooking set in the exact same colours, so you could still recreate the look if you wanted to. Why am I giving you a project with retired product on? Well it’s not because I havent been crafting but because I’m camera-less at the mo.

Pull up a chair, grab a cup of something hot and I’ll begin another Baker saga for you that will enlighten you as to why I have no camera.

Picture yourself happily sleeping in your bed. I say happily, but I was rather squashed due to a littlie who’d had a problem in the night and was having a rare night snuggle in our bed. All of a sudden, all I could hear was Steve shouting at me to ‘get down here now’. I did wonder what I’d done- had I left the oven on or something? I grabbed my coat, ran downstairs to find Steve a little shook up explaining that we’d just been burgled and he’d only then chased the burglar out of the house. The 5 kiddies were standing at the top of the stairs, scared and confused. It turns out theyd got in and were burgling around Steve whilst he slept in an armchair in the lounge. Shocking cheek huh? They made off with more than they should have but the police were there within 10 mins and a sniffer dog and handler in another 5 minutes. It wasn’t nice, particularly for Steve, but were thankful we were all safe and no lasting damage was done. I was so glad it wasnt someone else who might have been more terrified than my hubby and now we are having to deal with all the nasty after effects that this cruel and thoughtless person/s has inflicted on us. Do they ever spare a thought for those little children that are terrified to go to bed the next day, or the fact that we are so out of pocket as a result ( and thats not counting the value of the stolen items). The police have been fabulous and are still popping in to check we’re ok.

There were however, some things I will always smile about when I remember them. Firstly was my entirely inappropriate dress when meeting the police. I’d forgotten my coat isn’t really the best coverall and dived upstairs to grab my jeans when I’d finished talking to the policeman! I also had been really really busy preparing for my craft class that same day. My craft room was strewn with bits and bobs and someone commented that the thief had obviously been rifling through my stuff.  I didn’t have the heart to tell them that it was all of my mess!!

It’s a times like this that you remember what is really important, and I refuse to be so cross or frustrated that I lose sense of perspective or the joy of the moment. They can take all of our possessions, but they won’t deter us from living free lives, not being overshadowed by fear or stuck with the ‘if only’s’. God really protected our family early that morning and despite the oven and dishwasher both breaking this week too, I remind myself that it’s all still ‘stuff’ !!

All this fighting talk is making me hungry. I’ll sign on and go and cook off in our newly fixed oven (yay!!). Normal photo’s will resume when we can adequately prove to the house insurers that we did have a camera ( honestly, these insurers get worse!!).

Card project; Old Olive, Real Red and Whisper white cardstock. Old Olive ink. Designer paper. Treat Cup. 1 3/8 punch. Stamp set- Schoolbook serif. Silver elastic. Scalloped edge punch and tab punch. 

Entry filed under: papercrafting, Punches, Schoolbook Serif, Stampin'Up, Treat Cups. Tags: , , , , , .

Christmas medallion and Credit Cards New Ribbons and a Stampin’Up! Christmas Bundle

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  October 23, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Oh no Keren, how terrible. Thank goodness you are all safe, things can be replaced EVENTUALLY. Somebody jokingly said to me the other day, well if anyone broke in they wouldn’t exactlly want to steal craft stash – maybe if they knew what it was worth they would. Hope they catch the *******

    I finally inked my stamps up last night, will post them to my blog later.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  October 24, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Keren I am so sorry to hear your dreadful news … thank God you are all ok, though understandably shaken … I hope you can get things sorted soon … thinking of you and sending a hug … Ros xxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


