Acetate Cards & Sad News!

October 5, 2010 at 10:10 pm 3 comments

I realised I needed more sleep when it was mid morning and I’d only just noticed I was wearing my top inside out! Fortunately, it was being partially hidden by a jacket so I got away with it. Tonight, therefore I’m retiring a little earlier (make that 3 hours) than usual. This card was designed for a training evening run by Stampin’Up! at Manchester.. the one I blogged about a week or so ago. The clouds are in fact done on Acetate using white Stazon opaque ink and a sponge dauber- and give a lovely almost opaque quality, but not too opaque that you cant see the Eiffel Tower through them- just like the real clouds!! This set is really gorgeous and I’ve used it loads already. Definately in my Top 20 (ahem!!!). See the other images too! Im putting in an order Friday night, so shoot me an email before if you want it!

The sad news is that the poor hamster never made it to Saturday. At my New Catalogue Party on the Friday, the ladies all saw the poor thing and it didnt look great. My daughter is ever the optimist but it was obviously its time. My good mate kindly obliged to give it a good home in her garden and so we are now debating whether a replacement is appropriate or not. All very sad. I guess it’s an important rite of passage for a child, although our kids have gone through far more than just a hamster, but it still was upsetting for her. Unfortunately the other kids weren’t all as sympathetic as they could have been, so I’m not sure we’ve got any budding counsellors in our midst!

On a positive note, I went to visit a beautiful new baby and his very proud but utterly exhausted parents. Sleep deprivation is a terrible thing, but to look at the sleeping bundle of wonder, you couldnt imagine he’d kept them up most of the night. I’m really hoping they get a little more shut-eye tonight! Speaking of things new, I decided our eating patterns had developed rut-like tendencies and so have made it my goal to eat , or rather cook, one new meal a week. Last week it was Salmon and Prawn Thai curry and this week it’s been Spanish Chicken. The kids have loved experimenting and Steve has appreciated the effort. Thanks also must be attributed to Nigella, whose recipes I’m shamelessly following, although I have been adding my own little tweaks (sorry!, hope you dont mind!). I’m doing something different tomorrow using Pork Tenderloin pieces, caramelised apples and Dauphinoise potatoes and veg…wish me luck!!

Im going to sleep now- a whole hour past when I wanted to. This blogging lark has a lot to answer for!!

See you next time (with hopefully more of a spring in my step!)xx

 

Card project, Stamp set- Artistic Etchings, Word window punch, Spiral punch. Window sheets (acetate), Inks, Early Espresso, White Stazon opaque. Cardstock; Wild Wasabi, Rose Red, Whisper White and Bashful Blue. Marina Mist ribbon.

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Craft, Punches, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

New Stampin’Up Catalogue and Resurrected Hamster! Cute By The Inch Thankyou’s and Dangerous Conkers!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Peg  |  October 5, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Beautiful card Keren and I love the clouds they look so real, sorry about Hammy the hamster, hope you have some good shut eye.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  October 6, 2010 at 10:53 am

    You’re just so creative!! love how you did the clouds … I’ll be borrowing this idea … promise to credit to you though … the stamp set is lovely … but just spent a fortune on craft stuff lately so may have to wait a while …so sorry about the hamster …
    Good luck with your adventurous recipes … sure they will be yummy.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  October 7, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Oh no, so sorry about the hamster but hope you’ve had some more sleep and feel a bit better 😉

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


