Chequebook cover

September 25, 2010 at 6:44 am 3 comments

I’ve been really laughed at for this one. People think I’ve completely lost the plot when I’ve produced this out of my bag. It’s a chequebook cover- yes, I know your bank doesnt ordinarily send you it quite like this, but its taken me this long ot actually get it, it was well worth celebrating! Most people get chequebooks sent to them as a matter of course when theyre running a tad low. Me?- it’s taken nearly 6 months and 4 separate requests ‘in branch’ to even get a lot of perforated slips that simply enable me to take my own money out of my own bank account. I know banks are feeling the strain a little at the moment, but this has been ridiculous! It’s a very simple project and isnt  going to set the world on fire, but it makes me happy just looking at it. It’s in the ‘why should everything functional look so incredibly boring category!’ Hope to see you decorating up yours soon!

I’m writing this blog at an insanely early time in the morning by virtue of the fact that one of our fire alarm is trying to communicate to us that its batteries are low and as it can converse in no other way, it regularly bleeps, I’m awake and sadly not tall enough to reach the 7 foot required to turn it off. Why couldnt it just whisper quietly ‘please could you exchange my batteries’ hey?- someone needs to invent one of those!

A smallish gang of 5 of us went to Manchester yesterday afternoon for training with Stampin’Up! We were a little worried that the Friday snail traffic would engulf us and make us late but got there with plenty of time to spare. My friend Nicci and I were presenting two small slots where we had to demonstrate a project and technique to all the other 40 odd demonstrators. Ok, they werent odd, but you know what I mean! We were understandably nervous but both managed it to do it without falling over (kinda hard when youre sitting on a chair!) or messing up! Yay for getting out of your comfort zone and doing something a little scary.  These two girls are absolutely fab and are a scream to hang out with. Sadly I didnt get a pic of Linda or Gill, but one of them was so excited by the evening that she made us all laugh as she literally ran around trying to collect small examples of other demonstrators work (we call them swaps!)- (you know who you are!!!). None of us had eaten any tea as we set off at 4pm and by 11pm we were all starving. Ordering happy meals for some of them made the McDonalds staff a little bemused and Nicci introduced some of us to the delight that is chips dipped into McFlurrys! (you gotta try it before you knock it!!).

The last pic is of one of the girls who helps run Stampin’Up! in the UK and she’s called Kelly. She’d never done a demonstration before and she was brilliant. I might have got back at nearly midnight but had such a blast it makes me so glad that I joined as a demonstrator- I don’t know where else you’d find such a amazing group of such supportive and fun people!

The alarm has stopped shouting at me temporarily so I’ll try and get half an hour’s rest. The kids are all up and debating whether Heather is actually correct in reassessing her hamster Cinnamon as a boy. Hmm, can my neighbours really take this kind of discussion at 6:30 am !

Better go back to bed!…

Project; Cardstock, Ballet Blue, Melon Mambo and Bashful Blue. Ribbon-Ballet Blue. Stamp set- pick a petal. Flower brad, Spiral punch. Melon Mambo ink and crystal effects.

Entry filed under: Craft, gifts, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , .

Stampin’Up! Last Chance List Get Well card

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicci  |  September 25, 2010 at 8:10 am

    Oh Keren, you do make me laugh! Had such a fab time yesterday (once I got my part over with!) and can’t wait until we can start showing the swaps we got. I wish we had something like this every month 😀 xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Peg  |  September 25, 2010 at 8:24 am

    Sounds like you had a great time at Manchester training, for me the choice was HW as the distance was a little shorter than Manchester I wish I had attended both now!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  September 25, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    That’s some cheque book cover … and why not? Glad you enjoyed your demo … not sure about the chips with Mc Flurries though…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


