Simple 4’x4′ Box and Liverpool Craft morning 18.9.10

September 16, 2010 at 1:45 pm 4 comments

It’s not long long now until I can actually post using all the new Stampin’Up! colours and brand spanking new stamps. This is just another quick thing …a simple 4’x4′ box easily made by scoring a 4×4 square and adding flaps. Google making a box, it really is simple. I’d do a tutorial if I could only get a decent video camera!

At the moment, 4 of my kids have started a new club -its a creative arts school and they’re loving it. One of the songs they’re singing is from the musical ‘Rent’ which I’ve yet to see. The one that is being sung on a regular (nay daily!) basis in my home is called ‘Seasons of Life’. It talks of how you measure your life..575,600 minutes in each year. The lyrics ask how you measure your worth. Interesting question huh! I don’t want to be  measured by my card making- hopefully I’ll have done something  more worthwhile in my year… you have to check the song out- certainly makes you think.

I’m continuing to laugh out loud daily. My littliest continues to hone his comedic and dramatic skills. When he couldn’t go out to play on his ‘plasta car’ (plasma car), he turned around and calmly stated that ‘Mummy you have broken my life’! He was equally unimpressed by a recent visit to a hospital when a rather senior doctor thought he’d have a joke with him (although it wasn’t funny, and when you’re two it’s rather hard to extrapolate the finer nuances of humour from serious intent). He asked for Will’s car. Will refused. He asked again- still no joy. Why (I ask you) would you give your prized possession to a complete stranger just because he asked for it, and didn’t even say please?! He edged further towards Will on his swivel seat, repeating his demands. He got all the way up to him and said ‘Give me the car’. Will was now pushed into me and looking rather uncomfortable. The next request was unbelievable… ‘Car or injection, Car or injection? ‘. Ermm, sorry, Mr …., did I hear you right? Did you seriously just threaten my 2 year with an injection unless he gave you his car. William doesn’t really understand what an injection is (at least I really hope he doesnt), but dutifully handed his car over. The doctor grinned, looked at me and said’ See, it works, I have the power’. Through a smile and somewhat delicately clenched teeth I said ‘If my son develops a complex over injections, I will hunt you down’! I laughed, but I didn’t much feel like being good humoured. The doctor was called outside for 2 seconds and Will turned to me and said ‘That man is scary’. ‘Yes’, I agreed, ‘he is’.

The lesson to be learned in all of this is a) don’t take your toys to medical appointments and b) if you see a doc sliding across the floor towards you on his swivel chair , demanding something from you, grab your child and run!!

Making the box was really easy. I like all the punchy colours. Must remind anyone reading this that there is a Craft morning at St.Anne’s Parish hall this Saturday morning (18th September) at 9:30-11:30. Come and scrap or bring your card making stuff or knit if the urge takes you. Cost is £4, there are some free craft supplies available  ( cost covers hall hire) and yummy cakes are included. See you there!! Email me for directions if you want to come. kerenjb@hotmail.co.uk

Box; Cardstock- Melon Mambo, Pumpkin Pie and Kraft. Ribbon- Whisper white. Punches-circles. Acetate, Stamps from Frames in a flourish and Tiny Tags. Designer paper from Sweet Pea stack (retiring jolly soon) and Basic Black ink.

See y’all soon x

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Punches, Stampin'Up, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Quick and Easy Card Stampin’Up! Last Chance List

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  September 16, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Fabulous box keren … love the way you punched it and those colours!! Loved the story too … what a nerve that doctor had!
    Have a great day

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  September 16, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Sorry Keren … don’t know what is up with your comment box .. keeps saying ‘you have already said that” with big fat ! mark

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. dianne  |  September 16, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    What a totally cruel doctor, i think when he was called out i woul dhave made a swift exit !!! mind u he still had wills car ! , love the box.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. david tomlinson  |  September 17, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    My dearest Keren, YOU SHOULD HAVE FLATTENED HIM!!!!!!!

    David

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


