Stamping on Fabric

September 8, 2010 at 7:59 pm 8 comments

Not a card? Nope (as my littliest would say!). I made this just a few days ago as I’ve wanted to have a go on stamping on velvet for ages. This is more velveteen, but the results you can get on silk velvet are amazing.

It is incredibly simple.

Choose your stamp- bolder patterns with large areas of plain rubber work really well. Although, Dasher (the stamp I used) is fairly intricate and it still worked well.

Mist (spray) with water the back of the fabric. Lay the stamp on the ironing board with the rubber side up and  lay the ‘furry’ (velvet) side of the fabric down on top of the stamp (so rubber meets velvet).

Get an iron at medium heat (wool or low cotton heat-  (taking into account the type of fabric you have- obviously synthetic velvet will need to be a lower temp.)

Carefully press on top of the fabric. You’ll be ironing on the ‘wrong’ side. Iron for 10-20 seconds, lift and have a look. Obviously the idea is not to melt the rubber, but unless your iron is at a crazy heat, these stamps are pretty tough little cookies. Don’t use the steam either!

I’ve read that its best to have an iron with few holes. Don’t worry about it- as mine is ordinary, with plenty of holes and it worked fine and dandy!

Lift and check. It’s worth trying out with a little piece and a little stamp, as once you’ve lifted it, you’re unlikely to get it back in the same position. You’ll get the feel of it really quickly- but be warned, like so many crafts, it’s a tad addictive and gives beautiful results.

I’ve posted this to link to Shelli’s blog ‘So Shelli’. She’s the co-founder of Stampin’Up! and quite an extraordinary woman. She’s posted a challenge to create something using Stampin’Up! fabric. Their fabric is gorgeous but we don’t have any in the UK (yet!!). This was ok, we could still create a fabric project. So mine is just a simple little gift bag all ready for Christmas. Add a touch of thread, a few beads and some red satin ribbon. I made sure I found some ‘Old Olive’ fabric (ok, I stumbled across it and made such a quick grab for it that I might have been a little faster than the speed of light!!

Well, I’m not really compos mentis tonight. I’ve been cleaning my house like a crazy woman. It was our first viewing trying to sell our house and I did my best to get the house ship shape. Yes, I know, the place should be tidy all the time- well I have 5 kids and no maid and a part time Stampin’Up! job plus a lot of rather small responsibilities. Show me another woman in the same position as me and with an immaculate house and I will then and there give her immense respect. So I have tried to clean everywhere. Unfortunately towards the end, the spirit was willing but the flesh was weak and due to significant exhaustion I had to find quick and inventive ways to put things away (ermm.. make that chuck in the nearest available unused space). That was fine although I have a feeling I’ll have forgotten where I stashed most things and will now spend the best part of the end of this week frantically looking in bizarre places trying to remedy the losses. Better go really, I have some projects to create for my Stampin’Up! Sale on Friday. It’s gonna be a lotta fun (see, this Scouse lingo is finally osmosing into my vernacular!!!). Why don’t you come?!

Project– Old Olive type velvet.(from a local haberdashery). Real Red satin ribbon and Dasher stamp (stampin’Up!). Beads and thread from my own stash

Entry filed under: Craft, Craft Links, gifts, Stampin'Up, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Retired Blog Hop Quick and Easy Card

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carole  |  September 8, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    Wow, thats fab Keren. Thanks so much for sharing this lovely idea. I will be hunting down some velvet very soon. Hugs C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. monica gale  |  September 8, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    How sweet is this Keren? I am sure Shelli will be impressed by your creative project. Hugs xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. emma dyson  |  September 9, 2010 at 1:16 am

    keren this is ace…my neighbour gave me that very stamp as a gift after the party you held at mine….so your project is perfect for me….i’ll need to go hunting for some fabric now! love this one. thanks keren, emx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. emma dyson  |  September 9, 2010 at 1:17 am

    yes…trying to subsrine and i have to leave a comment…

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Amanda B  |  September 9, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Oh what a fab technique..now where can I find some velvet… I can see a trip to the shops coming on…. what a lovely excuse! Can;t wait to try this so thanks for posting Keren

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Ros Crawford  |  September 10, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Very clever Keren … good luck with both sales … house and SU

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Merry  |  October 11, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    This is an amazing idea…thanks for sharing the technique. I love the little bag.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Dianne  |  November 13, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    I have made bookmarks using this technique. Just use wide velvet ribbon (mine was 5cm) – the pile is even higher than this sample, so the design shows even more. It is so much fun and has to be the fastest craft ever. I just use pinking sheers to cut the ribbon a bit longer than the average book and its done. I only use the brown rubber stamps and if doing it for kids programs where there are lots to do, I have stamps just for this purpose. None have been ruined though 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


