Thankful for today card

September 3, 2010 at 2:32 pm 4 comments

I’m feeling a little reflective today-so hold onto your emotional hats! It was the new term start yesterday for my eldest four. Nobody is starting a new school but they’re all year older and with lots of mini new beginnings. It took quite a lot of preparing and checking lists, I can tell you! There was something comfortingly ceremonious(and  a tad repetitive) about laying the table for breakfast the next morning. Continuing on that mothers rite from centuries past. as I looked at all the little and not so little clothes set out for the day, I flashed back to when they they were all very tiny scraps of potential. I flashed straight forward too, to the day when it’s quiet and they’re all gone. Strangely I like the remembrance of the first, the reality of now and the promise of what may come. I think in my lament of time passing, I have forgotten the main thing; to embrace and give thanks for right now. All my parenting mistakes of the past are there to learn from , but my children are present now and I have an ordained responsibility to be the very best parent I can (and I need a lot of help with that one, I can tell you!). If you could know my gang right now, you’d see a very motley crew. Some of them are struggling with their place in the pecking order. Some are grappling with who they are versus who they’d hoped to be. Some are tentative, trying to explore every opportunity with just a little retisence. Others have a life full of wonder and just soak it up with great abandon.

That last one should be me- making the most of the moment and not forgetting to wonder. This morning I spent a hour or so at my friends allotment, just harvesting all her produce. It was amazing- the sights and colours and smells. The view of all the little allotments all jammed into a defined space but all containing the most wonderful smorgasbord of fruit and vegetables. It made me happy to be alive- surrounded by provision and plenty. There was plenty of wonder at the leafy miracles nodding in the wind or furrowing their roots down deep. Today is enough. Tomorrow is another day. Today I am thankful.

 

Just like I have to look back with fondness- we’re also saying goodbye to a whole lot of stamping stuff at Stampin’Up!. Many sets and papers and inks are retiring and some are reduced too. I’m selling off mine, but before I do, I wanted to bring a few projects to say ‘bye’ to them. The sentiment set and the frame set are going and so is the Designer Series Paper. Make their day, order them and show them some love– soon they’ll never see the light of day again!

Card project; Cardstock, whisper white, Kraft, Tempting Turquoise, Certainly Celery. Stamp sets-‘ A Bit of Birthday Cheer’ and ‘ Frames’. Grey taffeta ribbon and linen thread. Playground buttons and spiral punch.  These are all still available to order whilst stocks last of the stamps and paper.

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Punches, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , .

Icecream Colours Scallop Punch Card Retired Blog Hop

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  September 3, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    As always … enjoyable visit to your world and love your card ..

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Clare  |  September 4, 2010 at 9:17 am

    fabulous card, love the pleating!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. david  |  September 5, 2010 at 7:17 am

    My dearest Keren, how can one ever forget the joys which our children bring and difficult as it seems at times when caught up in the day to day actions of surviving, how much joy they bring nearly every moment.
    Appreciating what we have and not longing for more is the defining moments of most peoples lives and i for one give joy for you, steve and the children who though some distance away bring me joy as i am sure you do for mum and dad.
    Have a glorious day my darling and keep counting your blessings as you are truly blessed.

    David

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. SarahLP  |  September 5, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Love this card with all its colourful layers!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


