Create your own Stampin’Up! Embossing Folders

August 28, 2010 at 11:13 am 9 comments

I keep ignoring my diary. I do keep putting entries in and then refusing to acknowledge them. Even managed to double book myself (oops- thanks Hilary for playing virtual secretary for me!!). I think the head in the sand thing is directly linked to my refusal to acknowledge the imminent start of term. The thought of lunches and uniform and early starts and…. no, I will not go there for another 5 days!

So the busyness is sorta craft related. I’m trying to produce some video tutorials. My eldest just laughed at my paltry efforts. I was a tad proud of myself using my extremely ancient digital (it said digital on the outside) camcorder, only to discover that the memory card I’d discovered was actually for stills and all the stuff I’d actually recorded was on a mickey mouse tape contraption that sadly doesnt fit into any of the orafices of my laptop. Ok, so second round- try the Philips web cam I’d bought months ago and was languishing in a cupboard. Ermm.. the quality was sooo bad that the time delay between sound and picture was enough to make a cup of tea, wash your hair and whip up a batch of scrummy Cocacola cupcakes. Alright, not quite that bad, but get my drift! so, plan C involves scouting for a more decent web cam. I’m hoping we can spot a reasonably priced Flip but the chances of that are about as likely as my hubby getting out of bed before 9am on a Saturday morning!!

This card is inspired by the girlies at The Shabby Tea Room challenge . I’m afraid it’s probably not ‘shabby’ enough but I did enjoy creating. Sorry if it lets the side down?!

See the title? Well I’ve been playing around. I bought a Cuttlebug (or Bug apparently if you’re in the know). It’s a die-cutting/embossing type machine for the uninitiated, but then if you haven’t heard of that, you just might not know what that kinda machine is either! Anyways, I possess two embossing folders and stumbled upon a YouTube vid of a lady creating folders with dies from her Cuttlebug. Now I don’t really have dies either, but I do have several great SU punches. So I’ll show you what I came up with- and it’s  free. Yay!

First get yourself a fairly thick piece of card- prob something inbetween card and board. (Don’t worry- you can always use extra shims in the Bug later).

Punch out lots of your chosen image. These are the wings from the Large Bird Punch. Stick 3 on top of each other to make 1 thick layer and then start to stick these in a pattern on top of the thick card. I’ve chosen thick green card so you could see what I was doing. I’m starting to build the pattern in the top left. Cover the card until you the pattern you want. Don’t crowd it too much, make sure there are enough spaces to give an embossed effect.

 Now you’ve got the ‘folders’ completed you just need to run them through your Cuttlebug or Sizzix or whatever contraption you’re choosing to use. This is where a bit of experimentation is needed.

From the bottom up;

‘A’ Plate

Tan embossing sheet (rubber)

Embossing folder (your created one)

Piece of cardstock /paper

Tan embossing sheet (rubber)

‘C’ Plate

This is where you might find it doesn’t go through your machine or isn’t quite thick enough. You may need to remove the first tan embossing sheet or change your ‘C’ Plate to a ‘B’ plate and add a few shims (thin extra pieces of card just before the top plate). If you have any queries- just email me and I’ll try and help.

Here’s how mine came out.

Not bad eh?! I Forgot to photograph the harlequin scallop folder but it was just as good. The card at the top is using this embossing folder in brown- you can see it just about in this photo-

Well, more tidying up to do- the house is on the market, so now all that really hard work kicks in. Oh for a live-in maid (or is that what my kids are for?!!)

Domestic hugs xxx

 

To purchase any of these items, just email me on kerenjb@hotmail.co.uk 

Card project: Cardstock, Very Vanilla, Pretty in Pink, Soft Suede. Ribbon, Choc chip satin, Regal Rose grosgrain. Silver Clip, Bird Punch (also to create embossing folder) and Jewellery Tag punch. Linen thread, Ink- Pretty in Pink and Choc chip. Stamp set- Tiny Tags . All supplies apart from the lace from Stampin’Up! 

 

 

 

 

                                        

Entry filed under: Craft, Craft Links, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , , .

Calling all Liverpool Crafters! Icecream Colours Scallop Punch Card

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kerenbaker  |  August 28, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Reply
  • 2. Debbie Marcinkiewicz  |  August 29, 2010 at 5:02 am

    What an absolutely clever idea!!! Thanks for sharing with us in the Tea Room 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Stella  |  August 29, 2010 at 11:08 am

    This is a great idea and I love the final result. The color combo is one of my favorites; your card is so gorgeous!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Vicki  |  August 29, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Oh why are you so clever?…..lol Eat your heart out team ….hahaha!

    Hugs
    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Carol Houghton  |  August 30, 2010 at 1:10 am

    Hi Keren, These are fab!! We did these once when i was on the DT for Cuttlebug Challenges……we used a folded piece of thick acetate and stuck the layered bits in between, like a pre made embossing folder….they work really well don’t they 😀
    The card is gorgeous too….i love your style, so refreshing!

    Carol xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Peg  |  August 30, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Hi Keren and thanks for sharing this with us all, I too did this using the acetate like Carol but had forgotten all about it. Thanks for the reminder and for moving some stuff around in my head. Good luck with the start back to school!

    I am one of 6 kids and remember with joy what it was like to be part of a big family, you are a very talented lady juggling your busy life with such fab projects and very witty writing.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Sharon Sim  |  August 30, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Thanks for sharing this idea with us all. Will definitely use it!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Loraine  |  August 31, 2010 at 6:56 am

    What a brilliant idea! Not seen this before and just might have to give it a try. Thank you for sharing it with us all.

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Ros Crawford  |  August 31, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Great cards and great idea … have a good day Keren

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


