On Stripes and Icecream

August 24, 2010 at 9:19 am 2 comments

You can’t get me to wear to horizontal stripes (ok-I have one top!). I was brainwashed by the style police long ago to stick to vertical. I shouldn’t care really; but I do. My hubby is quite happy wearing stripes; of the rugby shirt variety. His parents were visiting and looking at our holiday photo’s (I was actually half smiling, half grimacing on one- (see previous post)). They commented that Steve actually looked like a bumble bee on one. This wasn’t down to him being furry or looking like he was about to aggress you with a sting, but namely due to the very dark blue and bee like yellow striped top he had on.I guess I never want to look like a little bee so I’ll stick to vertical stripes, should I ever actually find something like it. So why, if these north to south lines are so good at disguising what is already there, aren’t the manufacturers doing us all a massive favour and making such garments?

From stripes to nails- and not really a terribly smooth link. I have to shortly deliver a short presentation showing how to create something. That’s in theory ok. However, there will be some sort of camera software beaming my hands onto a largish screen so others can work out what I’m doing. There is a slight problem with this, in that my nails look like they have been in an altication with a lawnmower. Not terribly attractive. I have tried to avoid biting them (a completely reprehensible habit!) , and then they get snagged on something. Try acrylic nails?-someone suggested. Naively I asked how much this would set me back- oh about £20-25 ! Back to the drawing board really. If any of you lovely blog readers have any suggestions, I’m all ears.

This card started off with horizontal stripes, but I couldn’t do it and had to rotate them until I felt happy on the card’s behalf.

I love the colours on this card. Makes me think of icecream. Yum. While we were away on holiday, we went to an icecream parlour in Broadstairs called Morelli’s. We decided to buy 6 different flavours and do a vote on the favourite. We had lemon, hazelnut, mint choc chip, chocolate, coffee, hot fudge (a sundae). Why I thought we’d just peacefully pass around the sundae dishes whilst dutifully taking their turn escapes me. Eventually they got the idea to try and be patient, but with up to 3 spoons in one bowl at any one time, it teetered on being an icecream scrap. The lemon was nice but looked like you were eating unbaked meringue mix. The choc and coffee were amazing, but the outright winner was…hazelnut! Surprising really, but we enjoyed the experience. I did feel a little sorry for the staff though. Their uniform was a  white roundneck football strip design (and made of the same stuff) with purple stripes. On a hot day, they must have looked a lot like the icecream….melting.

Better feed my troops. They say an army marches on its stomach- mine march empty or full- but complain a lot more if its the former!!!

See ya!

Card recipe- Stamp set- Good Friend and Sweet Pea. Cardstock- Soft Suede, Whisper White, Melon Mambo, Pretty in Pink and Old Olive. Ink in same colours. White signo pen. Crystal Effects (on bird and letters). 1″ circle punch. Old olive ribbon. All supplies Stampin’Up!

 

 

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , .

Card for Hope Calling all Liverpool Crafters!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  August 24, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Great card Keren … even funnier read … as for the nails .. I know the feeling! got no advice to offer sorry …

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Vicki  |  August 25, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Love this style you’ve been making recently and the colours are lush! You can buy ready made nails in boots, they come with the glue to stick them on and not so expensive.

    x x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


