Boxes Galore!

August 14, 2010 at 11:05 am Leave a comment

Good morning! (said in a very yawny tone!). I’m still not quite awake and it’s 10:25! There’s lots to do today and I’m procrastinating, so I thought I’d better update my blog instead!

Last night was stamping class night with the theme of boxes. We had a really great time and it was great to welcome Jean, Janet, Lynda and Hilary, who I know but had never been to one of the classes. We made 4 different types of boxes and unfortunately ran on a little longer than ususal (sorry girls!!). The picture shows my favourite project of the night. It’s a ‘2,4,6,8 box, but I decided to create a lid for it instead. I let the side down by buying chocolates to go in it that didn’t match the colour scheme. (shocking I know! One of the girls said that it really wasn’t good enough and she wasn’t coming again!!!!!- she was only joking!). To be fair, they were blue choccies and really spoiled the effect!- but I know for next time to make jolly sure that I’m entirely colour coordinated,. If I’m not careful, they’ll be wanting my clothes to match too!

Isn’t the red such a scrummy colour? We’ve got a couple of new reds coming in October, and I can’t wait to try them out. I think my favourite is going to be the Cherry Cobbler; with a name like that, what’s not to like! I’d love to be a fly on the wall in Stampin’Up’s offices as they have the creative meetings to name all the colours!

The papers used are only definately available until the end of september (and even then, only while stocks last). It looks highly likely that they’ll retire. If you like them, let me know and I’ll order you a pack. It’s a scrapbooking/card making kit called Christmas Jingle and has 6 sheets of double sided paper, 2 sheets each of 4 different coloured textured 12×12 cardstock (8 sheets) and 6 large sheets of self-adhesive die-cuts. All for £15.50.

I mentioned in a previous post about our Passport fiasco. Honestly, it really does serve us right for being completely disorganised. We have learned that it’s probably best to check the validity of your passports before you book a holiday. Oh, and it’s always a good idea to double check that all of your family actually owns a passport! Our solution involved many many miles of travelling up and down from the Lake District back to Liverpool and returning within a couple of hours, across the lake District itself and then to and from the Lake District up to Durham. We were having a really relaxing holiday up to that point. We also had to get new photo’s arranged for our eldest girls who were actually away on camp at the time, and get them countersigned by a lovely girl who rang home to get her parents to visit her house and get her passport details! Honestly! We didn’t half put other people out. It was fascinating to discover that 2 of our kids had actually travelled to France two 3 years ago with out of date passports (big oops!).

We’re now up to date and significantly lighter in the pounds department. The passport people see disorganised people coming! I’m not usually unorganised, so it really did hurt a lot to be in such a mess (and an expensive one to boot!). Shockingly, the extra paraphanalia you need to actually visit France is nuts- one high-visibility jacket per passenger to kept in the main part of the car (not the boot) at all times, plus the red triangle and other stuff. I think it actually might be amusing to break down, so I can get a shot of the family looking rather silly in 7 high-vis jackets. It would make a great scrapbooking page!

Whenever we end up going on this trip, I hope it’s worth it! At least we can just relax and look forward to it now!

See you soon!

Keren x

Box; cardstock, real red. Christmas jingle papers. Old Olive satin ribbon. Linen thread. Square scalloped punch. Acetate sheet. Tiny tags stamp set. White Stazon. Supplies all Stampin’Up!.

Acrylic fragment- Tim Holtz.

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Craft, gifts, papercrafting, Stampin'Up.

Shadow Stamped Card Letter card

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


