Christmas in July

July 24, 2010 at 10:31 am 2 comments

Ho Ho Ho!…ok , several of my friends think that I’ve lost the plot completely! We did Christmas in July last year and it was such good fun that we had to repeat it. Yes I got my Christmas tree out (ok, the mini one), I put some lights and a heart out. We had token pressies for the kids and Christmas music too!

The day consisted of a Christmas movie (a la the muppets!), making Christmas cookies with some friends, creating crackers and then a full Christmas dinner in the evening with my in’laws!

So, in accordance with the theme, here’s an early Christmas card. Can you believe that there are only 154 days ’til the big day? Quick, get cracking (and that is including all the weekends!). I’ve been collecting bargains for the past few weeks so I’m getting through the present list gradually. The problem with doing this is you get a bit complacent and then it has a habit of creeping up upon you!

Isn’t the poinsettia pretty. Both stamped images (the countdown stamp and flower) are from ‘Spotlight on Christmas’ priced at £18.95 for 6 stamps. I’m posting a non-Christmas project soon using the same flower in different colours that looks completely different.

I’m crafting this morning which is really unusual for a Saturday morning- but I had 2 teeth removed yesterday in the hope it will cure my jaw restriction. I was a little bothered at the thought, but, boy, that dentist was fast! I was in the room for just under 10 minutes and that included the local anaesthetic being administered, the teeth extracted and the aftercare explained. I’ve now just got to be patient, wait for the swelling to reduce and hope that I can start opening my mouth properly again. I got a completely gorgeous card from Monika in my team. (thanks Monika).I have to give you the link to the site www.jacquielawson.com . The site is about animated cards using Jacquie Lawson’s artwork and the animated e-cards are stunning. Go visit!

The other thing I’m doing today is checking kit-lists for my two eldest girls as they go off to Girls Brigade camp on Monday. I love how the way that you pack displays so much of your personality! One of them is a ‘chuck-it-all-in-when-you-think-you’re-more-or-less-sorted’. The other is a’make-a-list-check-it-twice-and-tick-it-off’ kinda girl. They both end up with the same case although the former has a tendency to leave the odd thing at home and the latter tends to have much less creased clothes when she opens her suitcase!

Righto, need to go and help the latter girl check through her suitcase- I may need to help her sit on the case!

Take care, xx

 

Card recipe; Cardstock- Whisper White, Real Red and Old Olive. Real red and Old Olive dye ink. Dazzling Diamonds glitter. Rhinestone brad. Real Red satin ribbon. Merry Moments designer paper.

 

Entry filed under: Craft, Craft Links, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , .

Wedding Favours What a ‘felter’ of a day!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  July 24, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    OMG you are so funny! Can’t believe you actually did all that…….lol
    I bet the kids were delighted (the tweenies anyway.) I love your cards it’s fab, I just love the tag from this set “only *** days to go” it doesn’t even bare thinking about.

    Hope your mouths feeling better,

    hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. emma hunter aka craftycow1970  |  August 1, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    love that xmas card……clean lines and funky colour combo..def bookmarking that one….Emma x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


