Wedding Favours

July 19, 2010 at 12:24 pm 1 comment

Once you get yourself doing a Stampin’Up! demo’s job like mine, people start to ask you to help with all sorts of crafty dilemmas. I love solving problems so this is great for me. My friend Gill’s brother and his fiancee were getting married. She had made over 80 pots of strawberry and champagne jam (clever woman!) and wanted to use them as favours for the wedding reception.

We had lots of same sized but slightly mismatching jars and we had to work out a way of making them elegant without clashing with everything else on the table. The bridesmaids’ dresses were green, but it kinda clashed with the jam so we went for this really simple treatment. Apparently Graham and Grainne were really chuffed. To be fair, I didn’t do any of the hard work, Gill did that all. Over 160 tiny tags punched and stamped later and the whole bunch of them looked so cute. This is the one I kept and thought I’d share with you here. Sometimes (as you’ve heard me say before) less is best and this is definately a case in point. It just shows that you don’t need to being out the ubiquitous sugared almonds or choccies, and making something yourself needn’t be expensive either. I’m also glad to say that the tiny tags punch is going strong even after going through pretty thick card- The tag punch is only £8.50 and we’re not guaranteed it will be in the new catalogue that comes out in October. Get in touch if you want one!

I’m oven watching right now- my kitchen has seen some serious action recently. One of my daughters was in there yesterday after I’d done a big batch of cake as she was preparing for a ‘bake-off’ at school. Honestly, what will they come up with next?. She was laden down with some star encrusted chocolate cakes and another one for the teachers! and whilst I don’t like the idea of a baking competition just for one form, she should do ok. These teachers aren’t soft- getting their form to all bake cakes so they can ‘sample’ and ‘judge’!!!!

I’m baking at the mo for my younger ones’ teachers. I’m afraid I don’t do the usual presents (does that surprise you?!!!) instead I bake cakes and send them in a day before they break up- that way the teachers get to eat them and I stand a slim chance of actually getting my cake tins back!! There is a giant slab of chocolate cake and a coffee cake, with coffee cupcakes in the oven queue. I’ve only got to find and wrap a present for a party that Harriet is going to later (not forgetting the card!), and then after school I’ve got to bake a batch of red velvet cupcakes,(red, because that’s Suzie’s fav colour. I mean, it really wouldn’t be cool to have brown or pink icing, now would it?!!) make a ring and necklace for another teacher, help the little ones prepare Thankyou cards and then I’m off out to ‘Happy Stampers’ this eve. Phew, what an gigantically crammed day. Good job its nearly the holidays!!!

See ya! xx

Wedding favours- Basic Black ink. Tiny Tags stamp set. Tag Punch (called Jewellery Tag), silver elastic thread, whisper white card and ribbon.

Entry filed under: Craft, gifts, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , .

Anonymous Restaurants and a Chocolate Box Christmas in July

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. david  |  July 20, 2010 at 9:55 am

    does this young lady get any smarter, love to see your ingenuity and cleverness, hope everyone is well lots of love David xxxxxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


