Back To My Roots

July 3, 2010 at 8:51 am Leave a comment

When I first started stamping, I used the stamps that I’d had given to me. I soon went in search of images that really appealed to me. I started off buying more ‘arty’ and abstract images. I bought all the Stampers Sampler and Somerset Studio type of publications. I was utterly smitten with the way that a card could be a work of art within itself. I learned so many different stamping techniques at that time- pouring over the magazines and trying to work out just how they’d created the different effects. I guess our tastes change a little, but I still love that genre and when I was playing around with ‘Vintage Vogue’ recently I decided to go back to how I used to craft!

 I love the butterfly! You’ll have to get your eagle eyes out to work out how I’ve created it. I’ve ‘stamped off’ a lot which is just simply inking your image up and pressing it gently on some spare paper to remove some of the intensity of the ink and then stamp it again on the paper you want the image on. Inking the stamp with a couple of different colours adds depth ot the image. Just make sure that you start inking with the lightest colour first so you don’t get any transferance of colour into your inks.

Last Monday, I had an exciting trip from delivering some workshop orders to one of my lovely hostesses. She lives in a lovely place called Ormskirk and I’d taken my two oldest girls along for a small road trip!! Once we’d seen her and stroked her gorgeous chocolate brown labrador, we set off to do another delivery. All of a sudden out of the corner of my eye, I saw the level of the tow-truck to the right of me, suddenly dip right down. Then we saw lights coming off it, smashing on the road, sparks and then two enormous tyres started careering straight at my car. We were very blessed not to have any cars behind us. I couldn’t swerve because we had a car to our left. Everything was fine- the tyres missed us and went free-wheeling off down the car. Wow! I don’t know whether the trucks axel had sheered in two or something but they weren’t going anywhere and my girls thought it was so exciting. I can do without too much of that kind of thrill, thankyou very much! It just shows you that the life of a Stampin’Up! demo is never dull!

Time is ticking away in July- the July hostess promotion ends on the 31st July, so if you want to earn even more freebies than you usually could at a party, book one in right now- if you do it quick, I’ve got a couple of days free towards the end of July.

Today we’re probably going to watch ‘Shrek’ and/or going Strawberry picking. I love doing pick your own and I reckon the kids will have a ball doing it too.

Here’s the full card. The ribbon looks more grungy than Stampin’Up! ribbon does because I’ve coloured it myself with an Always Artichoke marker and been careful not to colour it really evenly, so it has a slightly distressed feel to it. The large eyelets are great for hanging things through and add to the texture of the card.

I’ll be interested to see who works out how I’ve made the butterfly!

See you in a day or two with a ‘faux embossed’ card.

 

Card recipe; Stamp sets- Vintage Vogue, Tiny Tags and Dot, Dot,Dot. Inks; Creamy Caramel, Close to Cocoa and Chocolate Chip. Cardstock; Always Artichoke, Kraft, Simply Suede and Very Vanilla. Gray taffeta and white grosgrain ribbon. Eyelet, Tag punch and Linen thread.

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , .

Good Friend Card Faux Embossing Card

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


