Comfort Zones and Slider cards

June 23, 2010 at 4:22 pm 1 comment

Isn’t it great to be pushed out of your comfort zone?  Not just peering over, tiptoeing over the line or awkward slow stepping towards your new horizon?- but full throttle, careering towards doing something totally different. You can’t always rely on your own abilities and sometimes you might need a bit of extra help. I am the sort of person who when I come to ,for example ,that nightmare roundabout that everyone tries to avoid, will occasionally go out of my way to go onto that roundabout -just so I don’t end up fearing it so much that I would avoid using it. Granted I’m not really a ‘feel the fear and do it anyway’ kinda girl ( just see me anywhere near a spider and watch my reaction!!), but I’ve been reflecting on some of the things I’ve been doing recently and how over time you just adjust, I guess. Over the past year (or nearly) since I’ve been with Stampin’Up! it’s been quite a learning curve. I’m not an at -the-front-and-stand-and-spout, but I’m much happier talking to groups now. I’m learning about accounts, being self-employed and these are all invaluable skills that I’ll build on if I ever get a full time job (no thanks!!!). I’ve met some funny, amazing, unusual and fantastic people and count a good number of them as my friends. Where else would that happen? 

I went on Monday night over to Wirral to visit a Stamping  Club. I felt very new and hadn’t got a clue where to sit or what to do. I didn’t fancy nicking someone’s reserved and favourite seat. In the end I sat next a lovely lady and we muddled through a somewhat complicated slider card together! It’s not complicated once you knew what you were doing but until then my brain cells were severely challenged! I’m hoping to go again (if they’ll have me!!). The slider card I made, is the one at the top of this post- it made a nice change from my usual style  but is probably too complicated for my simple style! Email me if you want to know how to do it- you need acetate and an outline type of stamp and something to colour in with. Add a bit of card and some decoration and there you have it.

Are you watching the England match this afternoon? I’m under strict instructions to record it. I have the tissues ready for the tears (pessimistic aren’t I!) but it’ll make for a nail-biting school run as I rush to pick them all up and then race home to catch the last moments. Honestly..football!!

In the second photo you can see what happens when you pull the slider card up- the colour ‘magically’ appears. Ok, not terribly magic, but the effect is ok!!

 

Check out my Stamping Classes tab at the top of the page- NEW CLASSES schedule is up!

Please forgive the photo’s too- wrong time of day (again!!!)

 

 

 

Card recipe; Melon Mambo and whisper white cardstock. Acetate. All a flutter stamp set and other stamp from Vintage Vogue. Spotted ribbon, linen thread and rhinstone brad. Basic Black and versamark ink.

 

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Stampin'Up, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Tag Card and a great offer! Good Friend Card

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  June 23, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Hey well done you for attempting this, I’ve seen them before and think they are quite clever and I notice even at your new stamp class you have been faithful to SU 😉

    Hope you’re doing ok, can’t wait to hear about the Happy Stampers 😉

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,504 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


