Hobbycrafts and Special Offers

April 26, 2010 at 9:59 pm 1 comment

What a fab weekend! Hobbycrafts at Aintree Racecourse was really busy and really exciting too. I felt a bit strange in my ‘black and white’ uniform, but I never really wear that combo! Once I’d got beyond the ‘waitress’ feeling and got my Stampin’Up! pinny on (enough said!!) I felt totally the part! Getting there was a tad stressful due to the fact that one of the roads on my direction list was closed. Sadly I wasn’t in my car and only had my trusty iphone to navigate. Wish it spoke instructions out loud– but I’m sure that won’t be far away. Once I was there- I had a bit of a briefing and Paula (from SU) showed me the project we were demonstrating and then it was show time! I talked so much that my lips went dry! Hard to believe that I talked more than I do usually, but there were lots of questions to answer and lots of people to meet. I met lots of crafters I knew and made some new friends too!

To accompany the show, Stampin’Up! are doing a great offer that you just might want to take advantage of. For a limited time (until May 7th), they’re offering their Starter Kit for £125. When you look at what is in it (over £240 worth)- it’s a real bargain! One of my party hostesses is taking advantage of it, and I’d recommend you do too!

I can send you details of exactly what’s in the kit (you can choose your own selection of ink, cardstock and stamps) or mosey over to the SU website for more details.

I have my monthly stamp class on this Saturday! Its running from 8-10pm (ish) and the theme this month is ‘Take One Stamp’. We’ll be seeing how just one image can be used in realy different ways to get radically different looks! I’ve a couple of places left if you want to book!

The card at the start was prepared for a craft night with some of the Stampin’Up! girlies from Liverpool and Wirral. We’re growing in number all the time and 3 of us had prepared cards. Scroll down to see Nicci’s and Vicki’s cards.

I didn’t actually have time to look around the show. Probably a good job, as I’d have spent money. I came home with very sore feet and once home discovered that my washing machine had broken. This is some calamity for me, let me tell you! Having 7 in the family means a couple of wash loads a day. Coupled with the fact that I was already a leetle bit behind, spelled rather a stressful evening. Thankfully a good friend (enormous thanks, Vanessa) took one load for me and tumble-dried it too! It meant that all my kids had clean clothes on this morning. So , tomorrow, I wait in for the washing machine fixer man. Let’s hope he turns up and that it’s not an astronomical bill! (please!).

This first card is Nicci’s; the set is Fox and Friends from the mini catalogue and the characters are so, so cute. It’s a quick card and I love the colour combo of Basic Grey, Kraft and Whisper White. She showed us how to make a ribbon knot using left-over scraps! Very clever!

The second one is Vicki’s. I love the large Medallion stamp, and she’s great at adding little details!- the little rhinestone in the centre of the medallion image just finishes it off perfectly! Her cards are always very elegant. We didn’t finish talking til 12:30!! We don’t usually gas quite that much, but hey, I can pretend I’m young again!

Tomorrow I’ve some serious clearing out to do- we need to order the ‘For Sale’ sign this week to have a go at selling it privately first. So if you know of anyone that wants a lovingly restored gorgeous Victorian house, send ’em our way!!

 

Card recipes- My card- Stamp set ‘A bit of Birthday Cheer’. Designer Paper Series- Sweet Pea Papers. Linen thread, Playground buttons and Shimmer spray. Kraft and Bashful Blue cardstock.

 

Entry filed under: Craft, Craft Links, papercrafting, Stampin'Up, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Nasty Surprises & Patterned Paper Tag Box and a Giant Head

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Angel Jem  |  April 29, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Sounds good fun at the show… not looking round was a brill idea. I would have spent a fortune. How did the washing machine repair go? I haven’t seen anyone for about 2 weeks, I’ve been on supply pretty permanently! If you see Julia Minks, thank her for me. Hays have really delivered!
    So, house moving again? Wish I knew anyone, but I don’t. Are you looking at another house or hoping to clear a chain first?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


