Nasty Surprises & Patterned Paper

April 19, 2010 at 10:04 pm 2 comments

What a week for good times and nasty surprises! We visited Drayton Manor on the last day of the Easter hols. They have a section called Thomas Land and we ended up spending most of the day riding on Harold the helicopter or Percy the Train! The bigger girls wanted to do the thrilling and wetter rides. Their log flume was the best I’ve ever been on and we got utterly and totally drenched! Good job we left it until the last ride of the afternoon! That evening we got home and Steve had a letter explaining we had to pay to a fine because I’d stayed too long in an Aldi carpark and contravened their terms. I was completely gutted- I had to hold my hands up and say that it was absolutely true but I hadn’t read the details properly (which is quite unlike me not to read the fine print).  Parking in that shopping area is all free so I wasn’t trying to escape paying or anything. I was supposed to be going into Aldi after I’d popped to the shops but I was pretty frazzled by the end of the trip and so I decided to go home…big mistake. A £40 mistake (yes, an unbelievable amount for a never full car park.) I am trying to rewrite the page as regards to that parking ticket. I’m waiting to hear back from the area team..watch this space (but don’t hold your breath!!).

I was really inspired by one blog hop. I saw some patterned paper just like the striped paper in my card. I thought I’d recreate something similar. I can’t give any credit as they didn’t specify the paper and I can’t remember which US blog I saw it on. If you recognise it, please let me know so I can give credit. I’ve also seen some upside bows recently and I thought I’d do some upside patterned paper to go with it. Yes, it’s supposed to be that way- it looked more funky that way around . I love the fact that the cardstock acts like corrugated card and bends beautifully. I just need to imagine-up a circular project to use up the spare.  

I’m with Stampin’Up! at the Aintree Hobbycrafts Show on the 23rd-25th. I’m there helping demo, chatting etc. It would be great to see you and say Hello!

I need to get an early night as I’ve had too many late nights recently plus I need to prepare a project for a craft meet up with with some crafting buddies tomorrow!

 Card recipe- Cardstock- Whisper white, Bashful Blue, Blush Blossom, Old Olive, Red Red, Pumpkin Pie, Yo-yo Yellow, Basic Black.

Old Olive satin ribbon, Basic Black ink. Stamp sets- Frames with a Flourish and sentiment from A Bit Of Birthday Cheer.

See you soon xx

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , .

Transformations and a Colour Challenge Hobbycrafts and Special Offers

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  April 20, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Hey get you and all your fabby ideas! I love this, I think your stripes are awesome but bet it took a while, I think I need to get used to the upside down bows though, they play tricks with my eyes…..lol

    See you later

    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Angel Jem  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    That ticket’s not very nice! It seems mean to me that a half empty car park should…. but then, perhaps that’s why it’s half empty.
    Hi Keren… found you on facebook and here via there. Nice to get the chance to chat. I’ve been doing supply as much as poss, and haven’t made it to school for a week.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


