Embossing and Joining

April 10, 2010 at 12:17 pm Leave a comment

Lack of posts = Easter holidays. Its been pretty busy around here. I kind of forget sometimes that I have 5 children as they don’t tend to all want things at exactly the same time usually. This holiday has seemed a little more demanding than usual. Some wanted a fun filled action packed week. Others wanted to be left well alone. Some did not want to get up early and others couldn’t wait to rise and shine (shining exceedingly loudly!!)

Still, I’m glad not to have any school run and its soo good not to be shackled by time in the same old same old way. Even a trip to the dentist with all the kids didn’t seem so stressful. Shopping for clothes an hour later wasn’t quite so relaxing! My boys delight in trying to attach themselves to the clothes rails.

The rest of this week involved a trip to Manchester on the bus courtesy of some cheap tickets from National Express. 7 kids and 2 adults. The trip had the markings of a potential disaster but we managed to keep them entertained and thanks to the wonder that is the iphone, we managed to locate ourselves and become unlost!  We visited the Science and Industry Museum. It is safe to say that it is a museum for boys. Before you all shoot me down in flames, there were some things that kept both sexes interested but my top two were very longsuffering! We went for a drink to to Yates’ and apart from meeting some highly unusual people, we had some bargain drinks, delish hot chocolates and some amazing sticky toffee pudding! The trip home involved my friend spying a man who was hanging off a multi-storey car park. She phoned the police who seemed a little bemused that she was ringing as she was driving away from the scene in a National Express coach. The coach firm seemed not to understand that their passengers don’t need boiling alive whilst travelling down the M602 and my friend ended up with a massive migraine. She kindly said she didn’t know what had caused it, but I reckon it was down to the what I lovinglly call ‘The Baker Effect’.

The card above is one of the projects we made last night at my card class. We were looking at embossing. We covered techniques that were new to  most of the girls- cracked glass, emergent colour, triple embossing and embossing resist. We used the Babywipe technique too! It might sound like gobbledegook but they produce fab effects. The card above uses normal embossing and cracked glass. If you look carefully at the photo of the butterfly, you can probably just make out the cracks!

The title of the post said ‘and joining’.. that refers to the wedding we’re off to shortly. I’m a real romantic at heart and weddings really make me smile. Not a lot can beat two people completely in love with each other, making promises before themselves and God to love each other and be committed to each other for the rest of their lives. Makes me go all ‘aaaahhh‘ inside! The joining together of two people is such a good reason to celebrate. It makes me reflect on my own wedding (which was scarily nearly 17 years ago), and yes, I was a child bride!!!! The butterfly makes me ponder ..I know looking back on the past years , how quickly it has flown and how short it has been. I wish the happy couple a life lived to the full and the ability to get through the highs and lows as a team. I, for one, will be reciting the wedding vows silently with them, reminding myself of all that is great about my own marriage.

I’ll be off, to get changed- it won’t be quite as gorgeous a transformation as of  a cocooned emerging butterfly- but hey, I can try!!

Card recipe,

Cardstock, Kraft, Old Olive, Pretty in Pink. Ribbon, Old Olive. Linen thread. Punch -Tiny Tag. Stamp sets, Very Vintage wheel, Tiny Tags and All A Flutter. Ink ,Pretty in Pink, Old Olive and Versmark. Clear embossing powder. Patterned paper- Sweet Pea DSP.

 All supplies except UTEE (on butterfly) from Stampin’ Up!

 

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , , .

Stars And Stripes And Babywipes! Transformations and a Colour Challenge

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


