Brayering and Solutions

March 6, 2010 at 10:19 am 2 comments

Good day (in my best Australian) accent! I have been feeling a little ‘upside down’ (Australia… other hemisphere? ..Get it? No? ..nevermind!) A couple of things have been completely perplexing me! This morning I have finally solved the problem of my ‘blue tinged’ piccies. After hunting through the whole house in an attempt to get a better place to take them, I discovered whilst playing around on the camera that some kind soul had changed the settings! It had been reset to ‘halogen’ which adjusts the lighting to compensate for halogen light! Duh! All this time.. and with one small click..proper daylight was restored. I was wishing I’d been Mary Poppins yesterday, and suddenly I felt I’d solved something with a ‘click’ of my fingers too. If only the whole of my problems were that easily solved!

Last night I held a brayering class which was actually lots of fun. Scroll down for some more pics of the class itself and I’ll be posting some more of the projects over the next few days. This card was made with a brayered background. It was extremely messy but people all ended up with completely unique plaid /tartan backgrounds. You do it using a brayer, post it notes, cardstock and copious amounts of babywipes (for the Brayer and your hands!)

There were lots of funny conversations including one where one of the girls whispered to the other about how simple the card was (once she knew how to do it)- I pretended to overhear that she was saying that I was simple! I concurred! I even had the ‘Simple’ branded babywipes to prove it! So now I’m ‘simple Keren’! (thanks Monika- you finally said what everyone has been dying to say!!!!).

The card is very simple and shows off the brayered background. We covered brayering basics, changing cardstock colour using foiled card. We looked at creating backgrounds, two colour brayering and then looked at two examples of brayer resist techniques!

The next class is on Sat April 10th (had to change the date!)   book now before all the spaces go! we’ll be covering Embossing with inks (embossing powder, not relief embossing!).

Well, a date with the Ferry calls. Yep, the same Ferry Across The Mersey that Gerry and the Pacemakers sang about!

See you!

Card recipe; whisper white, Rose Red, Green Galore, Pixie Pink, Tempting Turquoise. Inks, Tempting Turquoise, Pixie Pink, Green Galore. Stamp set- Wow Flowers. Versamark Ink and Rhinestone Brads.

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , .

Card Holder and Felting Simple cards

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  March 6, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Hey so glad your class went well, looks very professional, I did a small class too but forgot to take any photo’s. We did flight of the butterfly, only 3 one was sick (never mind) but they loved it anyway and have ordered the stamp set and punches:)

    Hope to meet up soon

    hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Donna  |  March 7, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Had a great time, Keren. Thanks so much.

    Donna xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


