Card Holder and Felting

March 4, 2010 at 1:38 pm Leave a comment

Yesterday I spent a fair part of the morning doing various errands but had time to pop into a few charity shops in search of wool jumpers. You’d be surprised at how hard it is to find these. I wanted to do some machine felting – those of you who’ve shrunk a jumper before will catch on here pretty quickly!

With a high temperature and agitation (movement of the water in the machine) you make wool into felt whilst youput your feet up and drink a coffee! Hmmm.. in theory this works- unless the maunfacturers have treated the wool first to stop it shrinking! Guess which ones I bought! Yep, ..but I was saved from complete frustration by purchasing a tanktop (in’ Old Olive’ green, of course!) which wasnt actually 100% wool. It was 80% wool and 20% nylon. It shouldnt have worked but it did! I was so excited (sad, I know) to put in a wool tanktop and take out a seriously shrunk, but beautifully felted garment that only really would fit my 6 year old. So, I had to use it- there and then. I have great plans for all the rest…brooches, hair slides and more yummy flowers! All the charity shops locally now know that I need old fashioned type wool jumpers- I really would like to get my hands on a nice Fairisle too!!

So, I made this card holder. I used one of the seams to add dimension to a straight edge and I just needed a flower for my button. I was fiddling with my Cropadile and although you can’t tell too well, I’ve punched out some of the circles in the Whimsy Wheel and backed it and then put Crystal Effects into the ‘holes’.

Sorry about the light ‘striations’- I guess this shows you the side view .

Am putting the final touches to my Brayering Class (rollering with ink and then some!) we’re making some exciting things- and yes, one does contain chocolate! I’ve two places left, if anyone fancies coming; 8-10pm, Fri 5th March. Location, my house (Liverpool). Cost £12- includes all supplies and refreshments.

I’ll be off then,

Card holder recipe; Cardstock, whisper white , kraft and Old Olive. Ink, old olive. Button, designer playground series. Papers- designer paper Tall Tales. Striped ribbon, Stamps ‘Seasons of Joy and Whimsy. Cropadile and Crystal Effects.Butterfly punch. All supplies Stampin’Up!

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Belated Birthdays Brayering and Solutions

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


