Peacock glitter card

February 19, 2010 at 10:06 am 2 comments

Don’t you love anticipation and the promise of something different? I’m so looking forward to some time spent with friends this weekend. I don’t have to cook, clean or tidy away! Yeehaa (as my 2 yr old would shout!). It will be the perfect ending to a busy half-term, an oasis before I return to the ordinary. Change is as good as a rest, I’ve heard it said,.. maybe?.. probably not!- but doing something unusual does help clear out the ‘common life cobwebs’. One of my favourite friends came round today to tell me about an outfit she’s bought for an upcoming wedding. It wasn’t the buying of the clothes that did it, but the way that being different made her feel. The Cinders mommy clothes were banished for those few minutes, and the submurged Cinderella-woman burst out! The look on her face was amazing, she glowed well and truly, and I have no doubt that if she doesnt wear decent concealer, the glow will be rivalling the brides’!!

Back to the crafting- I was getting all emotional just then! I too am glowing, but only from the copious amounts of glitter that are now stuck all over my face. Honestly, can someone please invent non-stick glitter so I don’t look I’ve been experimenting with sparkle bronzing powder. I’m not one for lots of glitz. Its simply not me. But, in a pared back way (which this card is not!)- glitter can be good. The slight translucency (is that a word?!) allows the background colour to shine through which was the look I was going for. I’d been out to some friends from church tonight and in their house were two gorgeous peacock feathers in a vase. When I got home, I plucked our peacock feather out of its holder and attempted to copy it. The SU colours are pretty nature-close. It really wasn’t hard. So , here is something completely different- very un-Keren like in style, but it felt good to buck my own self-styled way of doing things.

Here’s to doing it different, to glowing, to friends and maybe to glitter (just a tad!)

Hopefully you can see the effect on this pic. It’s almost magical! The thin parts of the feather are just tiny strips of the cardstock which bend beautifully when they’re thin- almost like wire.

Before I go, I have to say a big hello to Monika who is about to join my team! I’d love you to join too- I’ll introduce Monika and Katie properly in a future post!

 

Card Recipe; Stamp set- Schoolbook Serif, Cosmo Glitter and  2-way glue. Cardstock, whisper white, Handsome Hunter, Tempting Turquoise, Close to Cocoa, Elegant Eggplant. -and some fab Stampin’Up scissors! Ink in the same colours as the cardstock.

Byee xx

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Stampin'Up, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Quick Thankyou cards Belated Birthdays

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  February 19, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    Wow love your card it’s so clever! Congrats on your downline, is it one or two? (lucky, lucky, lucky:)

    Enjoy your weekend!

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. david tomlinson  |  February 20, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Looks like someone is having too much fun, brilliant card from a brilliant young lady love to you all xxxxxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


