Quick Thankyou cards

February 16, 2010 at 1:51 pm 4 comments

I’ve so many thankyou’s to say at the moment. Yesterday was definately a case in point- one of those days where you feel like you’re still asleep and having a tiresome dream yet you are actually awake and feeling fairly rough! It was Suzie’s Birthday so I had to give off an air of excitement  when I all I wanted to do was crawl into bed. Thankfully my Mum and my Auntie Judy were visiting and so the day was spent much more enthusiastically than it would have been otherwise!

In fact, her birthday party was more exciting than it should have been – but not for good reasons. The noise levels were amazing, the film failed to hold their attention and there were tears from one girl who didnt really want to be near another. So I sat with the girl in another room listening to her sorrows and Steve (hubby) looked on bemused!

Thankfully it all ended well- Suzie managed to try and share herself between them all and once I’d dropped one girl home and did the shopping needed for a play date the next day I literally ran (well walked pretty slowly) into bed.

Thankfully my mum and Judy helped out with sorting tea out for everyone else and generally tidying up so I could play the hostesses‘ mum (who had to remain inconspicuous yet conspicuous!!!)- an interesting job!!

This card (once I’ve made two) will be for them. They were real helps yesterday and I appreciated it. They kept an eye on the kids whilst I sorted out some loose ends. One of those ‘ends’ was the AWOL estate agent. I decided to give them a second go. Whilst I’m not known for my quick wit nor my ability to say the right thing at the right time, I did have an amusing conversation. After relating the problems that we’d already had with them, I asked ‘Is this your usual service?’!!! After some spluttering, the agent composed himself and assured me that they normally did things much better! Their second chance is coming up on Thursday. I’ll let you know…..

Back to the card- the butterflies have been embossed with a scoreboard to give a ‘plaid effect’. I would love to have lots of time to create complex projects, but at the moment if its not quick and simple, it won’t get made. Thats going for my cooking, cleaning and life in general at the mo! I’ve frayed the ribbon by cutting the wide stitched grosgrain ribbon just past the stitching. I did managed to create a pretty ruffle, but didn’t glue the edges to secure it in time, so it frayed beyond where I wanted and so I left it straight and thin! You can do some amazing things with the stitched ribbon as you can gather it really easily!

The rhinestone brads will go into the larger buttons- just snip off the brad ‘legs’ once opened out with wire cutters or they’ll extend beyond the button. Hope you like the simplicity. That’s all that you’ll find inside my head too!!

Happy simple crafting! xx

 

Card recipe

Card blank , cardstock- Old Olive and Bashful blue. Button from Playground designer buttons,  Bashful Blue grosgrain ribbon, Stamps from ‘Occasions’ and SAB ‘whimsical words’ set. Rhinestone brad and Dimensionals (3D foam). White embossing powder, Versamark ink and Old Olive ink.

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , .

Kids’ Valentine Favours Peacock glitter card

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mum  |  February 16, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Mentioned in despatches again! Thank you – we love you all and are grateful to be involved in all you do. Put your feet up

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Vicki  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Awww Keren, you definitely need some TLC, even just a night out you and hubby, no kids, no craft (WHAT!….) It doesn’t have to be expensive, a pub meal in a nice pub though!….lol Well may be a girly night? What about 2nd of March, I think Tuesdays are the only night Nicci can make but I will check with her, so make a date on the calender and as a special treat, you don’t have to bring a project, Nicci and I shall do one.

    Let me know and try to take it easy (with 5 kids on half term….lol)

    Big hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Oh by the way, I do love your card:)

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Nicci  |  February 18, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Aww, Keren sounds like you need a good rest! Another girly night sounds like just the ticket! Oh, and there’s something for you on my blog :o) xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


