Chilli Oil Tags!

November 2, 2009 at 1:35 pm 1 comment

blogpics22 003I would never have guessed that making Chilli Oil would turn out to be so complicated!! My hubby, Steve and my brother and my brother-in-law are all chilli adorers so I thought it would be a good idea to get cracking and make some for pressies. I had heard that all you need to do is pop some in a jar of oil and voila- chilli oil. Wrong, wrong, wrong!! Fortunately I like to double check things and its a good job I did, or my family might have been getting botulism as well as their Christmas presents.

Now, how do you find a decent recipe when there’s so many to choose from? And could I find any dried chillies in my local supermarket? Nope. So more internet research and I find that I should dry my own. After carefully slicing 12 chillies and after even more carefully washing my hands (!) I have a little tray of cherry red beauties slowly drying in my oven. It is gorgeous seeing the colour change from fiery red through to a crimson and hopefully ending in a dark deep red.

I  even took a picture of them- or no-one will believe I’ve done it!-

blogpics22 001

It was at the point of starting to make the labels where I wondered if it would not have been simpler just to go to Next or Lakeland and buy 3 bottles of the stuff. But the recycler inside of me said, ‘no’- I am using up three very nice drink bottles we had on Saturday.

So – they’re still drying. Giving out quite a heady aroma. Lets hope they’re done before the school run! Talking of school runs, tonights is gonna be a long one. 1 school to pick up one child. To another school to pick up 2 more. Then back to the original school to pick up my little boy who is sooo excited as he’s doing a football club today! He has been so excited. We had to buy shin pads and footie socks (both too big) and some really lovely football trainers. Somebody pointed out that

blogpics22 002they were going to get really filthy and they should be black. I said I’d wash them as many times as necessary. They were a real bargain and he is ecstatic that he can join in. That’s the good side of sport. Playing because you love it- not because you think you’re good, but because its fun. I suppose crafting is like that- doing it because you love it, not because someone else appreciates it!

I know, You’ve seen it..the bottle is empty. Only because you’ve not imagined the beautiful amber, reddish oil that will soon grace its inside. I’m still waiting for the drying process to finish. I’m really inspired now; I want to do chutneys and vanilla sugar and….

Watch this space!

Thanks for visiting today! xx

 

Card recipe. Kraft card, Real Red and Old Olive cardstock. Designer paper (retired, but the new Jackpot DSP would be perfect!!)- all from Stampin’Up !

Garden twine (I love this stuff at the moment- its going on everything!!)

Entry filed under: Altering, papercrafting. Tags: , , , , .

Butterfly Flutterby’s Scrapbooking about Chips!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  November 2, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    Oh Keren you’re so funny, as if you haven’t got enough to do, or is someone board!….lol I so hope the chilli oil turns out ok:)

    Hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


