More Distress Inking & Gaining New Skills

June 22, 2014 at 8:01 pm 19 comments

20140622-194828-71308205.jpg
Hi! I said I’d pop back in with another project using the Distress Inks.
By carefully laying the stencil several times onto the cardstock but only partially inked and sprayed, I could add colour in different layers without making them all combine and creating a muddy colour.
I’m afraid I don’t know where the stencil came from- I think I just picked it up from a jumble sale somewhere. The sentiment is a Newtons Nook one.

This week I’ve been learning new skills. This week it was Prom Week for my second eldest. She had found a hairstyle that she really wanted and decided I could learn it.
With the help of my old friend YouTube, I learned in half an hour how to create this ‘do’.
I fumbled and fiddled and eventually made a reasonable job of her hair. She was happy- which was the main objective and with some help of jewels ( aka my jewellery ) we decorated her hair too. I can’t show you a proper picture as she’ll kill me ( camera shy and all that) but I don’t think she’ll mind the back of her head.
What skill will I be required to learn next?! What’s the most unusual skill you’ve had to learn?!

20140622-195758-71878404.jpg

20140622-195757-71877838.jpg

Need to go- I’ve been crafting recently with the new range from docrafts out very soon; the Roald Dahl collection. It’s swizzbangingly gorgeous! x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Tim Holtz’s Tags of 2014-June & MIA Seam Binding Ribbon Hello Baby & Route 2!

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Virginia L.  |  June 22, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    LOVE your artsy card, Keren. Your new take on this technique is fabulous! And now…about that hair style…when can I book an appointment with you?

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  June 22, 2014 at 8:05 pm

      Ha ha! I’ll just fly over and do it for you! x

      Reply
  • 3. beaumama  |  June 22, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    I think your daughter’s hair turned out swizzbangingly gorgeous. (Did you make up that word?) …and your card is lovely…this is technique I need to learn.

    Reply
    • 4. kerenbaker  |  June 22, 2014 at 8:17 pm

      Thanks!! Well yes, I did sort of make it up- in line with Roald Dahl’ish type of language!

      Reply
  • 5. isisimaginings  |  June 22, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    A lovely card & your daughter’s hair looks wonderful.

    Reply
  • 6. Sue Brannan  |  June 22, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    What a wonderful updo…what on earth did you google as this looks like a one off….?! Lovely technique on the card…as always clleeeeverrrrr! X

    Reply
  • 7. Bev  |  June 22, 2014 at 9:01 pm

    Very cool card, Keren! Wonderfully unmuddied, too. Just love the NN stamps; they ink up and stamp so nicely, don’t they?! DD’s hair is lovely. Well done, mom! She’ll look back on this ‘do, and love it forever. Have a great week. : )

    Reply
  • 8. Mara  |  June 22, 2014 at 9:05 pm

    Beautiful girl! x

    Reply
  • 9. justtyra  |  June 22, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    this is fabulous Keren!

    Reply
  • 10. Clare Allen  |  June 22, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    Brilliant card Keren and very well done on the hairstyle front – totes amazing! I hope she enjoyed her prom!
    Clur
    x

    Reply
  • 11. Tina Best  |  June 22, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    The card and most especially the hair are gorgeous.

    Reply
  • 12. Sarah G  |  June 23, 2014 at 7:08 am

    Lovely card and super cool hair! I hope the prom went well :) Looking forward to seeing your Roald Dahlesque creations – my boys love the books and illustrations!

    Reply
  • 13. tsurutadesigns  |  June 23, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    Love your cards…watercoloring is my favorite now.
    You’re a natural at the hair thing…my daughter is quite sad that I don’t know how to french braid and actually told me that she thought all moms should know how to do them, straight, not wonky like I do them..hmph.

    Reply
  • 14. Denise Fletcher  |  June 23, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    Love the card, Keren. Do you let each layer of ink dry first before adding more? Love the strawberry blonde hair do too! You are a multi talented lady!

    Reply
  • 15. massofhair  |  June 23, 2014 at 10:47 pm

    Your daughters hair looks all grown up & perfect for her Prom!

    Love your card, you always manage to produce CAS styles no matter what you try. Am in awe:-) xxx

    Reply
  • 16. cathyparlitsis  |  June 25, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    HI, Keren! GREAT card and beautiful hairstyle! LOVING your style! Hugs, Cathy

    Reply
    • 17. kerenbaker  |  June 25, 2014 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks so much Cathy! I’ll pop over to see you shortly too! x

      Reply
  • 18. Ros Crawford  |  June 28, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    Absolutely fabulous!! Both ‘up do’ and card … Yeh next time you come I’ll get you to do my hair!

    Reply
  • 19. pinnednpenned  |  August 10, 2014 at 7:16 am

    Card and hair–both fabulous!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,885 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Holidays Coffee gift

Thanks so very much

Santa's Arctic Sleigh

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,885 other followers

