3D Scene Card & Luxury!

January 12, 2014 at 10:26 am 7 comments

bird

Ittttttsss Monday! Is that a ‘yay’ or a ‘groan’ coming from you?!! Hope you had a lovely weekend.

Today I’ve got a fun 3D scene type card I created whilst messing around with ‘Rustic Spring’ set from Mama Elephant. Magically, I’ve tweaked it to fit in with their current challenge. I’ve not done one in a while- it’s pink & pearly & glittery. I’ve covered the pink & glittery (teensy pink glittered heart) and the gems (on the circular frame). Here’s the inspiration photo

2014-01

Gorgeous photo isn’t it! If you want to play along- go here for the details.

It’s hard to see how 3D it is- here’s a close-upbirdclose

The top of the stacked 3D foam pads were showing through, so I added a little piece of pink glitter paper just to hide the pads & the the glittered heart is also strategically placed so looking front on, you can’t spy the 3D ‘structure’. Because I’d added those, the 3 tiny adhesive gems were then added to balance the heart. Design is often very organic!!

This is also my project for Make The Day Special. The store is so tantalisingly close to opening that you can almost smell the photopolymer ;-)

 

On Saturday I was demoing at the Range in Southport. Normally the days are fun and varied and this was really no exception.
Firstly I paid heed to the Sat Nav and only after I ended up at the wrong place did I remember that I’d done the same thing last time I went.
Place found- I went in to a store that was pretty quiet. It had been that way for the past few days apparently and the nice guy on the craft section said it would pick up nearer lunch.
Eventually some lovely girls popped by and along strode the manager and asked if I’d like a drink. These ladies were very impressed. They said they’d never seen the manager offer that before- but me, I mind not who makes me a drink!!
A little later, he came and enquired whether any of us had nut allergies. As no one did, he arrived with TWO boxes of chocolates.
Wow.
Service or what?!
The women a) practically swooned and b) were speechless.
They simply couldn’t believe it.
Chatting with the manager later he told me that they’d made sure I had decent furniture to demo with and had even sent down furniture from his office; a big comfy padded chair.
The final piece of wow’ness was that they’d found a wipe clean tablecloth complete with clips to keep it in place.
The crafts section guy wanted to know about the projects I’d made and all about what I did and Docrafts too.

I felt so welcomed and supported. A lovely experience.

Who wouldn’t want to go to work when you’re given treatment like that? On days like that I truly love my job!

Have to pop, I’m running some tight deadlines this week.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Die Cut Card & The Wrong House! Stamped Scrapbook Frame & A Day Off.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  January 13, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    Terrific card!! And I LOVE the range!

    Reply
  • 2. Cheryl Turtlemoon  |  January 13, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    Oh this is so lovely! Like a breath of fresh air, and it sounds like that manager was too!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia Lu  |  January 13, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    What a SWEET long card, Keren! I adore the scene that you carefully designed! The dimensions really add that special touches to this card! And of course, the colors are so lovely! Glad to hear that your demo job is such a pleasant/awesome one! You deserve that “Royal Treatment” since you are super talented–just saying :)

    Reply
  • 4. pinnednpenned  |  January 14, 2014 at 7:57 am

    LOVE THIS!! Oh that circle is so perfect…

    Reply
  • 5. Monika  |  January 14, 2014 at 5:18 pm

    This little birdie is simply adorable. Love it. xxx

    Reply
  • 6. Lorraine M  |  January 25, 2014 at 2:51 am

    Wow, you have a lot of skill and patience to add dimension to such intricate cuts. Nice job!

    Reply
    • 7. kerenbaker  |  January 25, 2014 at 9:27 am

      Thanks Lorraine! Do you have a blog or anywhere I can come and visit you? x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi there! I'm Keren, a Mum of 6 living in the UK with my extremely long suffering husband. I craft for therapy (with 5 kids, what do you expect!). I do some freelance craft work, hold craft classes and love papercrafting, scrapbooking and fabric. Baking is another passion too.
Things in my life that are important to me is being a Christian and I go to a great church in Liverpool.

Please say Hi!- feel free to make comments or drop me a line kerenjb@hotmail.co.uk.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,032 other followers

I’m designing for;

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Twitter Updates

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

I’m working with:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,032 other followers

