Die Cut Card & The Wrong House!

January 8, 2014 at 12:09 am 8 comments

20140107-234644.jpg

Here’s another bright offering using some XCut dies that are all different shaped and sized leaves. I’ve die cut them in a circle- pencilling out where I was to cut them after measuring roughly with a leaf die. I added a riot of coloured leaves and added my ubiquitous white ‘stitching’. Once your leaves are die cut, the card is fairly quick- just cluster up and bob’s your uncle!

Love that silly phrase- wonder where it originated from. There are plenty of other little mysteries in life and today threw up another one.
The wrong house sounds like an alternative title for a Nick Park film and occasionally I feel like I’m actually in someone else’s sketch or ‘you’ve been framed’!

We pulled up to our house this morning after a meeting at school ( & having dropped off a combination of cross, reluctant and sad kids to their respective schools).
We noticed two men outside our house. One was, in fact up a ladder.
In the area we live in, it pays to be a little on your guard.
At first I thought he was painting the neighbours house and using our drive for access.
Cheek.
Fancy that.

Upon closer inspection it was clear that the man up the ladder was actually fiddling with our gutters whilst the other overall clad man was watching.
The one on the ground turned and saw my somewhat shocked face. He grinned and gesticulated ‘do you live here?’
I got out and saw that the ladder man was actually painting.

He was painting MY house.
‘Hello’ I stuttered.
‘What are you doing?’
‘Painting your house’ came back the cheery reply.
It was clear that he was painting my house. My question was not aimed at the staringly obvious.
He realised that I was surprised and then said
‘You’re number x?”
I nodded. He checked my street name.
‘Yup’ I agreed.
‘Don’t you rent your house from ‘we paint any old strangers house?’
Obviously that isn’t the name of the company but I suspect that a little anonymity is prudent here.
When it was clear that we did in fact have a mortgage on the house he looked a bit confused.

‘Well how long have you had the mortgage for?’
I was wondering whether he wanted to see the deeds next and I too was wondering exactly who these men were and whether I had unwittingly fallen into the hands of 2 con men.

After a somewhat protracted conversation involving me, then my husband, then my husband and the men. Then my husband and one of his ‘contacts’ followed by another conversation with me and my husband we deduced that these were genuine and we wouldn’t be receiving a fake bill anytime soon.

My daughter got them some biscuits and I made them a cup of tea. If you’re going to get your house painted for free, you might as well treat them decently.
‘Just be glad you came back when you did love, we’d have gone round to the back.’
The other piped up
‘Yeah and we might have started on your bricks too’.
As it was we had some guttering painted and a primed and caulked door frame.
‘Im going to have to paint your door as I’ve got some white on it’.
Sure enough he had. I later learned he’d also got it on the dustbin too. But who’s being picky?!
They eventually left but not before telling me that it sometimes happened and they’d painted a whole house front wrongly before today.
I guess we got off lucky.

Less fortunate was having to leave the door open all day whilst it dried. The house is pretty cold without inviting the wind directly in too.
On the plus side we have a freshly painted door and frame.
We also have a partially decorated brass door handle too. I’ve got a job tomorrow that involves removing excess paint from a certain handle.
Bless.
They were jolly souls.
They made me laugh.
Anyone who makes me giggle is welcome to my house. Wrong house or not!!

See you when I’ve warmed up x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Acorny Card & Failed Puns! 3D Scene Card & Luxury!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. djkardkreations  |  January 8, 2014 at 2:14 am

    A bright and happy card that I love and a thoroughly enjoyable post! Thank you, Keren! What a way to start the new year!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  • 2. Virginia Lu  |  January 8, 2014 at 3:19 am

    Your gorgeous card is my ray of sunshine, Keren! Love it! What a funny story about the two men who wanted to beautify your house?!!

    Reply
  • 3. Anna  |  January 8, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    Love the card Keren! So bright and cheerful. Funny story about your house. Many years ago, we had some insulation blown into our attic. They accessed the attic through the trap door that was in my daughter’s closet. About 2 years later, my next door neighbor noticed a man on the roof of our house. He chopped a hole into our roof, and blew in some insulation into our attic through the hole in our roof. He then patched up the hole with a wooden board and some roofing tiles. When I got home from work, my neighbor called me to tell me what she had seen. As she knew that we had had insulation blown into the attic previously, she thought that it seemed odd that I was having it done again. The man who did the work, left a business card in my mailbox. I called the company and it turned out that he did the wrong house. Right house number but the wrong street. The house he was supposed to do had wanted the insulation blown in through the roof as someone living there had really bad allergies and the owner did not want the insulation hose in their house. The man who did the work came over and apologized but then wanted me to pay for his work. I told him that we had not needed the extra insulation, that I had not authorized the work he did and I refused to pay. He came back again the next day and told us that his boss was going to make him pay for his mistake and could we please pay as he had been out of work for a long time, had 4 children and his boss was threatening to fire him. We still refused. An hour later, the boss came over and wanted us to pay and told us we could get a grant from the government but it would not cover the entire bill. At this point, we were getting fed up with it all and told him that we had already received the government grant and would not be able to collect it again for the same type of work. He still insisted that we should pay for his employee’s mistake. Unfortunately, the only way we could get him to stop pestering us was to threaten to call the police and threatening to sue for work done on our house that we never authorized. A few years later the hole made on our roof started to leak and we had to pay a roofer to come and fix it. By this time, I had thrown out the business card and for the life of me could not remember the name of the company. I should have kept the business card and sued for damages. On the plus side, we had extra insulation in our attic and our heating costs actually went down a little bit.

    Reply
  • 4. Ros Crawford  |  January 8, 2014 at 1:41 pm

    Well it could only happen to you! LOVE this card Keren …

    Reply
  • 5. Bethan Lycett  |  January 8, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    Hilarious! Hope it looks lovely all freshly painted! Love the lead die cuts too, I can’t resist green, or leaves for that matter!

    Reply
  • 6. Miriam Prantner  |  January 9, 2014 at 12:20 am

    Loving all those great bright colors, wonderful clustering with the buttons, and what a crazy story!!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Bev  |  January 9, 2014 at 1:23 am

    Hmmm…I wonder if they could come across the pond and make a mistake on my trim! Living by Lake Michigan (and I mean 4 houses away from its bluff), the elements are hard on our paint. Thankfully we live in a brick house, and only the trim needs to be redone now and again! Now. Your card is a breath of fresh air. Bright and happy colors, and a wonderful design. That stitching must have taken some time too! Well worth it; this is lovely!

    Reply
  • 8. Bethan Lycett  |  January 11, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    We played ‘Don’t eat Tommy Smartie’ today with my kids and my nieces, they loved it!!Thought i should let you know you’ve started a craze!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi there! I'm Keren, a Mum of 6 living in the UK with my extremely long suffering husband. I craft for therapy (with 5 kids, what do you expect!). I do some freelance craft work, hold craft classes and love papercrafting, scrapbooking and fabric. Baking is another passion too.
Things in my life that are important to me is being a Christian and I go to a great church in Liverpool.

Please say Hi!- feel free to make comments or drop me a line kerenjb@hotmail.co.uk.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,013 other followers

I’m designing for;

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Twitter Updates

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

I’m working with:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,013 other followers

