Acorny Card & Failed Puns!

January 6, 2014 at 9:36 am 4 comments

20140106-093306.jpg

Did you get the title? A corny card. (Acorny– acorn-y). No? Ah well.
I have an even worse play on words with the sentiment going with the Lawn Fawn set- Into the Woods and also the Milo’s ABC stamp set. I was sat there thinking about what sort of sentiment would go with a bunch of acorns (as you do!!)
It came in a flash of ‘brilliance’? No.
‘Wordiness’? No.
Acorn-iness.. That’s what.
This would be a silly congrats card suitable for a man or woman. I kept the contrast colour green for that very reason. Now I just need to find someone needing congratulations who will.
a) understand the word play
b) be silly enough to appreciate it
c) not think I’m an utter fool.

Because I was a little unsure of the phrase I thought I’d try it out on my 11 yo.
‘Read the sentiment please ‘ I cajoled.
After several attempts she got it.
I was beginning to realise my word at wasn’t quite as clever as I’d originally congratulated myself on.
‘Do you get it?’ I questioned her.
‘Well, sort of ‘ she shrugged.
She thought for a moment
‘Is it one of those old-fashioned phrases that was around in the ’80′s?’ she said smugly and flashed me a wicked smile.

Yup. Sometimes it doesn’t pay to involve your offspring.
Well at least just make sure your ego is up to the onslaught first!

I’m busy getting the kids to find their PE kits and school stuff ready for tomorrow. It’s gonna be a long long day!

See you on Tuesday when I’ll finally get a coffee in peace! 😉 x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

String Art card & Birthdays! Die Cut Card & The Wrong House!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue Brannan  |  January 6, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    Not sure I get this one either Keren….sorry, corny congratulations? ! Mmm love the colour scheme though x

    Reply
  • 2. Ros Crawford  |  January 6, 2014 at 12:45 pm

    I get it … I think it’s brilliant!

    Reply
  • 3. Jeanne Thomas  |  January 6, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    Well, Keren, I think its fab – I laughed so much when I read it – maybe
    it has something to do with being a scouser?!?!?!? Maybe not. Love Jeanne xx

    Reply
  • 4. Virginia Lu  |  January 8, 2014 at 3:20 am

    This makes me smile! You are so fun and creative, Keren!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi there! I'm Keren, a Mum of 6 living in the UK with my extremely long suffering husband. I craft for therapy (with 5 kids, what do you expect!). I do some freelance craft work, hold craft classes and love papercrafting, scrapbooking and fabric. Baking is another passion too.
Things in my life that are important to me is being a Christian and I go to a great church in Liverpool.

Please say Hi!- feel free to make comments or drop me a line kerenjb@hotmail.co.uk.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,004 other followers

I’m designing for;

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Twitter Updates

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

I’m working with:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

