String Art card & Birthdays!

January 4, 2014 at 2:45 pm 9 comments

20140104-142232.jpg

A few months ago, I had a commission to ‘update Spirell’i. That was a big challenge- I haven’t the issue to show you some of the results. Looks like it’s an emerging trend though- and here’s another take on it.
The die cut frame, papers and embellishments are from Docrafts latest ‘Sew Lovely’ range. The alpha stamps are Lawn Fawn.
I’ve simply threaded embroidery thread into the die cut spaces and then added the letters on top.

Today is my Birthday and I’m about to go out for a coffee. Having had a little break from Facebook, it was lovely to go on yesterday and today and find lots of lovely messages from people.
I’ve had a lovely variety of presents-including one from my sister and brother in law on paper mechanics which I can’t wait to read- you’ll be seeing the results of this soon I’d have thought.
My little woke me singing and quoting my age. Alas- it was not quite as happy a birthday when reminded of how ancient I’m actually getting but they all treated me to a lovely breakfast they’d made and after taking down the Christmas decs the house is starting to look more ship shape!

Nobody bought me a maid or cleaner for my birthday.
There are always sadnesses (!!)

I did enjoy a brief moment of peace and quiet standing in the Post office queue this morning.
Small mercies ­čśë
I was tempted to stand there and keep backtracking to the reverse of the queue. I decided against it due to a gun shot like speedy remembrance of the last time I stood in the queue there.
My daughter and I were there posting parcels. We were aware of a somewhat pungent aroma.
It was the unusual aftershave of the man in front. Aftershave is a euphemism for something else entirely less pleasant. It was a strange mix of various things.
I began to hold my breath. Faced with the prospect of passing out on the post office door I decided to breathe through my mouth instead.
Sadly the queue was long.
Just when we could stand it no longer, the man was called forward.
My relief was palpable.

The smell remained.

The man behind was sporting the same ‘aftershave’. He obviously didn’t receive ‘soap on a rope’ for Christmas!
Sigh.
We were in fact part of a ‘smell sandwich’ where we were the filling.
With that recollection I hightailed outta the post office and went home.

Better dash,
See you when I’ve opened all my presents ­čśë!
Xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Happy New Year!! Acorny Card & Failed Puns!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ~amy~  |  January 4, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    smell sandwich…ugh, you poor girls…hate that when that happens.

    happy birthday to you!

    What a fun card, love the string art!

    Reply
  • 2. isisimaginings  |  January 4, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    Happy birthday! That is a lovely card.

    Reply
  • 3. shirley-bee  |  January 4, 2014 at 4:21 pm

    Love the string art – happy birthday!

    Reply
  • 4. Bev  |  January 4, 2014 at 5:35 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! There are beauties and wonders at every age, and you’re at that perfect one…whatever age you are at right this minute. Many blessings and wishes for the year ahead. Your card is stunning, btw! I am in pure awe of this one. Hope you don’t mind if I pin it. Cheers! : )

    Reply
  • 5. vickiscraft  |  January 4, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    Wish I had some of your inspiration when it comes to card making and hope you’ve had a lovely day too! ;) xx

    Reply
  • 6. Jeanne Thomas  |  January 4, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    Happy Birthday Keren, and many blessings for 2014. What a really
    lovely card, I love it. Hope you have had a great day. Lotsaluv, Jeanne xx

    Reply
    • 7. kerenbaker  |  January 6, 2014 at 9:17 am

      Thanks so much and Happy new year to you! How are you? It’s a long time since I’ve seen you x

      Reply
  • 8. Bethan Lycett  |  January 5, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    Happy Birthday! Love the ‘smell sandwich’ story!!! I feel your pain, I’ve also been in a similar situation (has everybody?!). Glad you got some nice presents, even if one wasn’t a cleaner!x

    Reply
  • 9. pinnednpenned  |  January 6, 2014 at 2:30 am

    You really are so funny! HAPPY BIRTHDAY & NEW YEAR(S), Keren, and wonderful card! Funny, I had the same situation as you speak of today at the grocery store. Aftershave. That is good. After *something*, alright!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi there! I'm Keren, a Mum of 6 living in the UK with my extremely long suffering husband. I craft for therapy (with 5 kids, what do you expect!). I do some freelance craft work, hold craft classes and love papercrafting, scrapbooking and fabric. Baking is another passion too.
Things in my life that are important to me is being a Christian and I go to a great church in Liverpool.

Please say Hi!- feel free to make comments or drop me a line kerenjb@hotmail.co.uk.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,298 other followers

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

I’m designing for;

Flickr Photos

Let it Snow!

Happy happy happy!

All Ears!

More Photos

I’m working with:

I like this store

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Twitter Updates

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,298 other followers

