Core Cards Creative Frenzy

August 9, 2012 at 9:28 am 7 comments

This is a longerthanusual post so get ready!
Core’dinations have a Design Team call and you know how much I love a challenge! You’ll have to hurry as it finishes Friday at midnight EST tonight-but that surely gives you enough time!

20120809-084043.jpg
The challenge from Core’dinations was imagine you’d been given a pack of their Core Cards what would you do with them? Now given as they are A2 and A7, the A2 size gives a bit more room to play with so I’d first make this tiny box and add some pretty embellishments.

20120809-093014.jpg
You can see the bow here- I used Black Magic I embossed the cardstock which has a blue core with a dotted embossing folder and then gently sanded it- the secret to getting the shaping is to spray the cardstock sparingly with water then bend it carefully and keep manipulating the shape until it stays like that or dries. The beauty of this cardstock is that the other side is smoother and is the perfect match ( obviously!!) and you can see I’ve stamped on the little tag and used both sides to create the bow tails.

20120809-085250.jpg it’s so good with any embossing folders you have – I used this scalloped one to decorate the sides of the box.

20120809-085429.jpg
This second project is about creating different embellishments- this one a simple flower. They’re so easy- if you’ve never made one- this is how to do it-

20120809-085640.jpg You need 7 or 8 scalloped circles- size isnt important. I’ve a punch, so that was easy but you quite easily just cut them out- they don’t need to be a precise shape.

20120809-085758.jpg Next you want to spray or drip a bit of water onto each circle. It’s best done one at a time or they tend to dry out before you get to the next one.

20120809-085902.jpg you’re trying to break down the fibres in the card slightly and if you hold the circle in the palm of your hand and use a finger to push into the centre of the circle, it will crease and ‘give’ slightly. Once you’ve done that, it’s much easier to scrunch it up. Do this to each circle until they all look like this

20120809-090103.jpg. Now leave them to dry. If you have wet them a lot and open them out less than carefully they’re likely to tear so be patient!

20120809-090201.jpg Once dried and gently opened up, they should look like this. Don’t worry about the colour coming through the creases- its supposed to look like that. Now onto the sanding!

20120809-090309.jpg sand gently with sandpaper or even a nail file- sand away until you’ve exposed as much of the colour as you want. Don’t forget the edges of the circle as you’ll really notice these in the final flower.

20120809-090440.jpg now stack each circle on top of each other, putting a small circle of glue between each layer. When you get to the final layer you’ll need to scrunch the circle back up like this

20120809-090603.jpg Now just arrange the ‘petals’ to give a fluffed up effect and that’s it. So easy!

20120809-090706.jpg
This is my final and favourite project! I love rosettes and wanted to try them with cardstock. Easy. This cardstock manipulates beautifully and I’ve also used the card plain ( I used Core’dinations with Tim Holtz’s Distress cardstock). I’ve used it to make the grass, the cloud and the rosettes.

20120809-091346.jpg
Well done for lasting out this far!! Hope you’ve enjoyed the projects-

I won’t post any funnies today- I reckon you’ll fall asleep if I do.
See you when I’ve been to the dentist again ( temporary fell out and I’ve got to return for like 5 minutes just so he can see that its fallen out!) xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Neon Scrapbooking & Goodbye Ironing! Red, Yellow, Green Card & It’s Friday!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  August 9, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Lovely cards and box Keren … Love that your cards are all so different and show off the product so well…I hope you are successful … I once won a whole pad of their 12×12 papers … still using it! It cost them a fortune to send it from the USA!!
    Have a good day! xxx

    Reply
  • 2. alicecarman  |  August 9, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    Karen these are fantastic! Thanks for the flower technique, I may have to try that out. Great cards today, loving all the layers and texture and that paper bow is super cute!

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  August 9, 2012 at 10:54 pm

      Thankyou! That’s really lovely of you to say!

      Reply
  • 4. Lalo  |  August 9, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    Okay Keren so it looks like you’re a shoe in! AMAZING AWESOME stuff as always!!! Ahhh got to get my post up today!

    Reply
    • 5. kerenbaker  |  August 9, 2012 at 10:55 pm

      You entering too?! Ooh- imagine if we could both get in?

      Reply
  • 6. Karen B.  |  August 10, 2012 at 4:37 am

    I’d say you were a shoe in! These projects are utterly fantastic and your tutorials are so clear and precise. Fabulous projects, especially the first one!

    Reply
  • 7. Vicki  |  August 10, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    Oh very nice, just laughing here, jumped ahead of myself before I finished reading and thought, how the heck is she going to fit that card into an envelope? So glad it’s a box….lol

    xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi there! I'm Keren, a Mum of 6 living in the UK with my extremely long suffering husband. I craft for therapy (with 5 kids, what do you expect!). I do some freelance craft work, hold craft classes and love papercrafting, scrapbooking and fabric. Baking is another passion too.
Things in my life that are important to me is being a Christian and I go to a great church in Liverpool.

Please say Hi!- feel free to make comments or drop me a line kerenjb@hotmail.co.uk.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,796 other followers

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

I’m designing for;

Flickr Photos

Joy to the World!

Christmas Dreams!

Happy!

More Photos

I’m working with:

I like this store

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Twitter Updates

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,796 other followers

