Buddy Greeting & Being inventive!

June 17, 2012 at 10:31 pm 9 comments

20120617-220833.jpg

Hey!! This is a fun card in response to the Gallery Idol challenge at Paper Crafts Connection
The task this week was to create a card using a household object. I’d had the idea to use ear buds and colourise them. Simple to do- just dilute some dye ink ( I used a drop from my refills) with a tiny bit of water. Soak the tips on the colours and leave overnight to dry on some absorbent paper ( I used kitchen roll). The hardest bit was getting the Prima stickers to remain on the ear buds! I do love the fun element to it- and the rainbow colour scheme is back. Just happy, happy, happy!
I’ll be back soon with a few of the Fathers Day cards. My kids had a ball making them. I really enjoy watching their creative process and inventiveness. They just won’t take the products how they’re designed- they’ll chop them up, adapt them and change them. I really have to resist the urge to ask them to make something straighter or line it up.
Today ( Father’s Day) was lovely but disastrous on the food front. Tried to make Banoffee pie which is really not hard- but I didn’t manage to boil up the condensed milk in good time so thought I’d do it directly in the pan. I had to whisk it that vigorously that I ended up with a blister on my hand ( I kid you not!!). Sadly the caramel was more toffee than banoffee. It wasn’t that pleasing to eat which was mortifying when all the ingredients were just yummy. Definitely a case of the thing not being greater than the sum of its parts!

20120617-222455.jpg

Better run- have some ironing to do. See you when I’ve located some decent value school blazers! ..

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Less Is More Challenge & It Often Is! Fathers Day Card & Big Surprises

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tsurutadesigns  |  June 17, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    I love it!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Chris R  |  June 18, 2012 at 1:32 am

    Oh that is incredibly cute! What a fantastic idea. Love the color and how fun the card is.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia Lu  |  June 18, 2012 at 3:46 am

    This is so creative! The rainbow theme is perfect with these “Ear buds” ( here we have a brand called Q tips and that is what people call them generally or cotton swabs)! Hope your finger is all better (ouch!)!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly Griglione  |  June 18, 2012 at 6:16 am

    No way … that is SO CLEVER … love what you came up with!! I’ve never seen these on a card before.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Shirley-bee  |  June 18, 2012 at 7:31 am

    Ha, that is so inventive! I’m off to the kitchen to see what I can find to play along.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Kathy  |  June 18, 2012 at 8:05 am

    This is so clever, and so fun!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Ruth Heggarty  |  June 18, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    Easy way to make Banoffee pie. Crush biscuits, tin of caramel condensed milk, bananas and whipped cream

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Chunyuan  |  June 20, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    gorgeous card, Keren. love the rainbow color Qtip.

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. alicecarman  |  June 22, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    Love this! Great card,

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,501 other subscribers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds